Maki Posted August 29, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 146 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 1195 Reputation: 467 Joined: 11/15/11 Last Seen: April 11, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2013 (edited) Fork & Pull Request on rAthena >>>> Fork & Make New Pull Request <<<< >>>> How to update your fork <<<< Introducing (a short guide to) GitHub Pull Requests Submitting a Pull Request 1. Once you've commited and squashed your changes, push them to your remote like this: git push origin newfeature 2. Then go to that page on GitHub and change branches to the one for your new feature. Submit a Pull Request! 3. Then, click on the little button that says 'Pull Request'. This will bring you to a page asking you to describe your change. Describe it thoroughly. Describe your Pull Request. 4. Then press 'Submit Pull Request'. Now, you're not quite done yet. If the maintainer finds some problems with your code, they won't want to pull your changes until you fix them. Fortunately, whenever you commit and push more things to that branch of your code, they will be included in that pull request until it is closed. Accepting And Merging a Pull Request If you're on the receiving end of a pull request, how do you merge the changes? Easy - press the button! GitHub now has an auto-merge button which does everything for you in one click. However, it doesn't always work, in which case you'll have to do the merge on your own machine, like so: And then their changes will be properly merged into your main master branch. So, Your Pull Request Was Rejected. Now What? Some forks are unavoidable. Sometimes, for technical or organizational reasons, your pull request will be rejected. This can feel really frustrating, and there are a few different ways you can proceed. Just remember to act rationally. The simplest thing is to simply accept their judgement. It's their project, and a good maintainer knows when to say "no." If their argument is logically sound, you should accept it. If you don't think it's a particularly important feature, hopefully whoever is looking at the project will check the Network and Issues tabs of the upstream project and will notice your changes. Easy to follow video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CpllxXPsvw ELI5 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ocbq8vx4vI Other Resources https://help.github.com/articles/using-pull-requests Original Article If you have any questions, please feel free to ask! We will try and assist you as best as we can. Users who are knowledgeable with GitHub Pull Requests are also welcome to help! Edited August 5, 2014 by Cydh Just point the post that gives 'how to fork and do PR' for rAthena 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanakiwurtz Posted August 30, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Share Posted August 30, 2013 A noob-friendly tutorials will be appreciated Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stolao Posted August 30, 2013 Group: Developer Topic Count: 48 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1443 Reputation: 344 Joined: 10/17/12 Last Seen: Wednesday at 08:02 PM Share Posted August 30, 2013 A noob-friendly tutorials will be appreciated Ya this would be awesome, also with git i can add my own custom releases in a fork right? I wonder how, I'm to lazy to look up atm maybe ill look later if no one answers~ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maki Posted August 30, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 146 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 1195 Reputation: 467 Joined: 11/15/11 Last Seen: April 11, 2023 Author Share Posted August 30, 2013 A noob-friendly tutorials will be appreciated Ya this would be awesome, also with git i can add my own custom releases in a fork right? I wonder how, I'm to lazy to look up atm maybe ill look later if no one answers~ Yes that would be possible! I split the the above two posts from the original topic (so we did not get too off-topic). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pr3p Posted August 30, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 197 Reputation: 13 Joined: 05/14/12 Last Seen: October 29, 2024 Share Posted August 30, 2013 Awesome maki thanks really help Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
anacondaq Posted August 30, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 42 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1096 Reputation: 348 Joined: 02/26/12 Last Seen: May 30, 2023 Share Posted August 30, 2013 http://git-scm.com/ git tutorial. Dear RO servers must read & use it for quality coding. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanakiwurtz Posted August 30, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Share Posted August 30, 2013 Thanks Maki for your reply! So what I have to do? Make a fork from 'master' branch. 'Git Clone' it to my local drive. Make changes on local drive. 'Push' changes to my fork repo. Submit 'Pull Request' to Master branch. Is there any step that I miss? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted August 31, 2013 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted August 31, 2013 I got this problem when tried to clone the "forked" rAthena. ####################> git clone -v --progress https://github.com/cydh/rathenaCloning into 'rathena'...POST git-upload-pack (250 bytes)remote: Counting objects: 102175, done.remote: Compressing objects: 100% (16110/16110), done.effatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedlyMiB | ##.## KiB/satal: early EOFrror: RPC failed; result=18, HTTP code = 200fatal: index-pack failed Solved with this command git config --global http.postBuffer 524288000 NOTE, if u're using windows, maybe u need to find correct directory with 'git.exe' and use 'git.exe' syntax instead 'git' Git clone return result=18 code=200 on a specific repository 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted November 22, 2013 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted November 22, 2013 Make sure when you read this, open this photo album, source How to fork rAthena? You must have GitHub account. Open rAthena repo on github: https://github.com/rathena/rathena On top right-corner, you will see "Fork" button, click it (Pic. 0.jpg) Then choose your account to place for forked rAthena. (That pic, mine, show @cydh and @rathena because I had been invited to rAthena repo itself) (Pic. 1.jpg) Well it's done! Clone your forked rAthena:Here for Windows user, I used SmartGit. Project -> Clone Input the Repository URL, it should be https://github.com/<yourusername>/rathena (Pic. 2.jpg) Just "Next" (Pic. 3.jpg) Choose your local directory (Pic. 4.jpg) GIve the Project Name (Pic. 5.jpg) Well it clone your forked rAthena, just wait (Pic. 6.jpg) How to update my forked rAthena? First, you need make sure your forked repo is up-to-date with rAthena repo. For this steps, use this source images(Step: 1~8, only for the first time) Click Remote menu -> Add.. Fill the URL or Path with https://github.com/rathena/rathena and give the name "rAthena" (1.jpg) After the remote repo is created, right-click it -> Fetch More... (2.jpg) Choose the master branch. (3.jpg) If any changes, it will fetch them. (4.jpg) Make sure your active branch is your local master. Right-click on the master branch of rAthena remote, choose Merge (5.jpg) Click Fast-Forward (6.jpg) Well, is it already up to date? (7.jpg) If yes, do nothing. Make sure your active branch is your local master. For another day maybe, you can simply right-click on rAthena remote choose Pull (10.jpg) Click Fetch Only (11.jpg), and wait until it done (12.jpg) Then you need merge it to your local, right-click on master branch of rAthena remote, choose Merge... (13.jpg) Fast-Forward (14.jpg) (Only if your local doesn't have conflict it the 'incoming' fetch, if there is conflict, it will be Create "Merge Commit" and you should solve the conflict) And you will get this log (something like this) (15.jpg) That's mean, it's done Push them to your repo on GitHub! Just click Push (16.jpg), then just choose the branch master only (17.jpg) Wait it, and see the changes when it's done. (18.jpg) Before make Pull Request (PR) Better you make new branch, keep master branch SAME with rAthena master branch. Why?- It won't disturb your or rAthena master branch- 1 branch 1 PR, so you can make many PR for each branch.- Merged/closed/rejected branch can be deleted, so if your PR from non-master branch is rejected, your master branch still same, you can make PR again later without your prev. rejected branch disturb your next PR.- Make new branch on your github, just go to your fork, the type branch name, if the branch isn't exist, it will offers to make new one, example "test" branch, then pull your repo first.- See this guide how to do it! How to do Pull Request?(Back to this album again)Edit the file you want (make sure everything is correct and working properly) Open your SmartGit, open the project. Make/switch branch, Branch menu > Add Branch (F7), name it as "test" for example. (Better you click the "Directories" first on the left, then) Click "Commit" button A Commit window will appears, (choose the file taht you want to commit & push) Give commit message. Then click "Commit & Push" (Pic. 7.jpg) Wait until it done! (Pic. 8.jpg) Here is it, do a Pull Request! Open your browser and open your forked repo (mine is http://github.com/cydh/rathena) Then click "compare" (pic. 9.jpg) or you can use https://github.com/<username>/<rathena fork name>/compare/rathena:master...<branch name> Click "Click to create a pull request for this comparison" (pic. 10.jpg) Give some messages, then click "Send pull request" (pic. 11.jpg) Done. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQfoolsorellina Posted November 24, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 40 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 587 Reputation: 105 Joined: 11/19/11 Last Seen: July 7, 2019 Share Posted November 24, 2013 I m using Tortoisegit How to update my forked rAthena? XD Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted November 24, 2013 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted November 24, 2013 I m using Tortoisegit How to update my forked rAthena? XD the first step for u is, "install SmartGit" EDIT: How to update fork by using TortoiseGit See this album Right-click your local fork, choose Settings On the left menu-list, click on Git -> Remote. (pic) Need to new remote for rAthena, just type 'rAthena' on remote textfield (it gives the remote name) and the URL is https://github.com/rathena/rathena.git (pic) Click Add New/Save. U will get new remote, named rAthena. (pic) After adding the new remote, there is prompt "Do you want to fetch remote branches from newly added remote?" Yes! (pic) Look at this picture, and OK Wait until it done, you will see some it works, fetching from rAthena. (pic) If it's done, right-click on your local fork, choose Merge, Select remotes/rAthena/master on the Branch from (look at this picture), then OK. (pic) Wait until it done (it should be fast, it just merging ur local fork). (pic) Then u need to push it. Right-click on ur local repo, choose Push. On the Ref, select for local is ur master, and Remote is master too. And the Destination Remote is origin (it will be pointed to ur https://github.com/<username>rathena. OK. (pic) Wait it done, and look by browser on ur repo, it should be no different between urs and rAthena's repo. (pic) *bump* 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQfoolsorellina Posted November 24, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 40 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 587 Reputation: 105 Joined: 11/19/11 Last Seen: July 7, 2019 Share Posted November 24, 2013 (edited) What an awesome guide! dunno why I prefer Tortoisegit, really help a lot. So, After first updated , What should i do is fetching from remote(rAthena) --> Merge local master --> push remote(origin ) , Is it correct? Edited November 24, 2013 by QQfoolsorellina Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted November 24, 2013 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted November 24, 2013 What an awesome guide! dunno why I prefer Tortoisegit, really help a lot. So, After first updated , What should i do is fetching from remote(rAthena) --> Merge local master --> push remote(origin ) , Is it correct? yup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peopleperson49 Posted January 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 219 Topics Per Day: 0.05 Content Count: 1181 Reputation: 141 Joined: 01/27/12 Last Seen: 4 hours ago Share Posted January 3, 2014 I downloaded TortoiseGIT and installed it. I however can't figure out how commit the git files using it. I can right click on a new folder and go to GIT Clone. But it pops up with a dialog box that says Git for Windows (http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/) not found. I have tried the options for Set Git path with no success. Is there a config files I missed for it or something I'm doing wrong? Thanks. Peopleperson49 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanakiwurtz Posted January 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Share Posted January 3, 2014 You need to install msysgit first, Peopleperson49 After that you need to fork from master repo to make your own fork repo, from there you can change the files on your local disk and later you can commit & push to your fork repo. When you feel that your commits are done, then you can make a Pull Request into the master repo Just be sure to Pull/Fetch before you edit the files on your local, because if you forgot to do that, there's a chance that your commit will got conflicted with the current branch 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peopleperson49 Posted February 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 219 Topics Per Day: 0.05 Content Count: 1181 Reputation: 141 Joined: 01/27/12 Last Seen: 4 hours ago Share Posted February 3, 2014 (edited) I'm trying figure out how to do a pull request, but even with this topic I'm lost. I am at the page https://github.com/rathena/rathena/pulls and it shows me who has made them and their status, but nothing about letting me add. I have tried to use TortoiseGIT (with msysgit installed), but I get errors such as Invalid git.exe path. It says check help file, but that don't seem to help either. I am able to download the github for rathena, but from that point on its not working. What is it I'm missing here? Thanks. Peopleperson49 Edited February 3, 2014 by Peopleperson49 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanakiwurtz Posted February 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Share Posted February 3, 2014 If you want to make a 'Pull Request' to the master repository, you have to make your own 'Fork', then you make your edit on your fork.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted May 15, 2014 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted May 15, 2014 better make new branch for your fork before making pull request Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted August 10, 2014 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted August 10, 2014 How to make a new branch for PR? Go to your rAthena fork on your github account, https://github.com/<yourusername>/rathena Make sure, you're in "master" branch first, so it will makes new branch based on "master" Make new branch by click that "branch" and just type branch name that you want. Example "idea" (thank anubisK that inspired a cool name for sample branch) Branch created. Pull your local first, you will get this notif about latest pull contains new branch. Now, make new branch on your local, make sure the active branch is "master". Add new branch with same name "idea". New branch created. Now set the tracked branch. Well, now u're in "idea" branch, you can edit something. I tried to edit README.txt and README.md. Save your changes. Commit & Push it, make sure your changes in "idea" branch not in master branch. Give a little log messages. Now, go to Github again, look at your new branch commits. Mine, https://github.com/cydh/rathena/commits/idea. OK nothing to here, I just want to show you the changes. Now, browse source on idea branch. Like mine, https://github.com/cydh/rathena/tree/idea You can click "compare" or "compare & pull request", or by enter this URL https://github.com/cydh/rathena/commits/idea After done you comparing, hit that "Create pull request"! Give a little notice maybe? "Create pull request!" OK, your new Pull Request is ready, you can wait until it merged or rejected. Once it merged or rejected, you can delete the "idea" branch, it won't bothers your "master" branch fork. Then, for sync your master branch, just do like on my other guide how to update forked repo. You should do those steps before making new PR, because this won't mess your forked repo & the master branch's commits. Just try asked someone who already mess their fork, he/she have to reset their fork (delete current fork and refork) to make their "master" branch clear. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikegyver Posted March 16, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 399 Reputation: 69 Joined: 12/26/15 Last Seen: December 24, 2022 Share Posted March 16, 2017 any guide by using github software? i try to follow the guide provided. but got stuck in middle halfway. https://github.com/rathena/rathena/blob/master/.github/CONTRIBUTING.md How to create Pull Requests ?? 1. Make sure you have a GitHub account. 2. Next, you will need to fork rAthena to your account. 3. Before making changes, make sure you create a new branch for your working tree. 4. After completing your changes, commit and push it to your branch. 5. Now you are ready to create a Pull Request for rAthena! As on number 4. I already commit, which in the new branch. so, here's the question. should i commit in new branch or commit in the master branch.? what i did is i commit in the new branch. upon commit in the new branch, I create the PR.. but, somehow, my PR have checks failed. this is the failed message. Add more commits by pushing to the expanded-baby-job branch on hazimjauhari90/rathena. but, another question i would like to ask, how would it should be done. commit new branch & push to master branch. is that so? anyway, sorry for a such very simple & basic question. any guide & help are much appreciate. thank you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
uddevil Posted December 4, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 2 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 7 Reputation: 1 Joined: 01/16/12 Last Seen: March 18, 2021 Share Posted December 4, 2017 Hi, thanks for the guide. I'm new to this pull request thing, if my pull request is approved and merged, should i close the issue related to it? or just wait to be closed by the receiving end? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted December 5, 2017 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted December 5, 2017 (edited) On 12/4/2017 at 9:07 AM, uddevil said: Hi, thanks for the guide. I'm new to this pull request thing, if my pull request is approved and merged, should i close the issue related to it? or just wait to be closed by the receiving end? yes you should. or rather, devs will take care the closing action for every opened issue (except you found that your issue is invalid) later if you make another PR for fixing something based on Issue, please use "Fixes #nnnn" so it'll be auto-closed Edited December 5, 2017 by Cydh 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
latios Posted April 29, 2020 Group: Members Topic Count: 3 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 25 Reputation: 17 Joined: 12/12/15 Last Seen: June 18, 2022 Share Posted April 29, 2020 What is the best way to help approved pull requests (not on hold) get merged? For example this filtered list of pull requests: https://github.com/rathena/rathena/pulls?q=is%3Apr+is%3Aopen+review%3Aapproved+-label%3Astatus%3Aonhold Would adding things such as screenshots or a video of testing help? I suppose I'm wondering how to help aspiring contributors understand what work is remaining on a PR before it gets merged. It'd be helpful to know if we can do anything else to assist devs for a given PR. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archetype Saber Posted February 3, 2021 Group: Members Topic Count: 90 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 361 Reputation: 19 Joined: 01/09/13 Last Seen: January 19 Share Posted February 3, 2021 I don't know where to ask, but are we not posting Digestive Updates anymore? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.