sandbox Posted March 2, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 38 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 949 Reputation: 174 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: Friday at 12:25 PM Share Posted March 2, 2014 Want to make a new add-on for your server?! Here's a 10-step guide on how to create your own launcher for your server. This would serve great as a one-way directory for your players, you can easily redirect them to your applications, website, etc! Disclaimer I used VB6 because most players do not have a .NET framework version later then 3.0ish installed Step 1: Download VB 6.0 portable, Run it afterwards. Don't forget to press Reg Key before running it. Step 2: Select Standard EXE Step 3: Click on the main form, then edit Caption under the Properties tab(lower right) rename it to your server name or whatever title you want. You can also re-size the form to whatever size you want your launcher to look like by dragging the borders, like how you re-size normal windows. Step 4(Optional): Place an icon by browsing the file upon clicking Icon property. Step 5: Create a button to launch your Patcher/Exe! By clicking the Command Button tool on the toolbox(left side), then dragging the desired size that you want on your main form. Step 6(Optional): Create another button to launch Setup or any file that your players often access. Step 7(Optional): Add your logo or banner to make your launcher pretty! Simply click the Picture Box tool, only two icons above the command button icon. Then browse for your logo by clicking the Picture property Step 8: Time to code those buttons! Simply double click the Patcher button we made earlier, the coding area will pop-up afterwards. Copy the codes written in the photo or paste the code below. Don't forget to replace "Your RO Patcher.exe" to the name of your patcher/exe file! Dim RetVal RetVal = Shell("Your RO Patcher.exe",1) Unload Form1 Step 9: Now, let's put the code for running the Setup.exe! Now, why is it much shorter? 'Cause the code below is needed to be used instead of the one below, only IF your exe/patcher contains spaces. Shell ("Setup.exe") Unload Form1 Step 10: Save your project then compile it! Go to File > Make Project1.exe Hurray, we're done! Here's the finished product of what we created! Now, just simply place this on the root folder of your RO files, along with setup, patcher, etc. so you wouldn't get errors! To improve the design and functionality of your launcher, you might wanna add & explore some functions & properties of forms and controls! 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kido Posted March 2, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 127 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 1445 Reputation: 164 Joined: 08/17/13 Last Seen: July 11, 2019 Share Posted March 2, 2014 coool thank you for the release o:!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altimage Posted March 2, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 23 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 96 Reputation: 1 Joined: 03/07/12 Last Seen: January 19, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2014 How to setup auto start exe ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pneuma Posted March 2, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 82 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 846 Reputation: 138 Joined: 02/26/14 Last Seen: March 7, 2018 Share Posted March 2, 2014 Also Maybe add in a guide for creating the Login Screen for users who require a Launcher to login? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sandbox Posted March 2, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 38 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 949 Reputation: 174 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: Friday at 12:25 PM Author Share Posted March 2, 2014 How to setup auto start exe ? Auto-start from what? Also Maybe add in a guide for creating the Login Screen for users who require a Launcher to login? That, I might not be able to make. I'm not pro with gfx unfortunately. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altimage Posted March 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 23 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 96 Reputation: 1 Joined: 03/07/12 Last Seen: January 19, 2023 Share Posted March 3, 2014 Auto-start from what? from client seem likes splash screen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sandbox Posted March 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 38 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 949 Reputation: 174 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: Friday at 12:25 PM Author Share Posted March 3, 2014 Auto-start from what? from client seem likes splash screen. Hmm.. I don't have the codes right now for I am at work, but i'll give you the logic, > Create a new form, make it as your default form. > Edit its properties and make it a borderless window > Insert picture box then resize it to the max size of the form > Code it to load for at least 1-3 seconds. > After the loading delay, unload the picture box form, load your launcher's form There's some code like that roaming in google, I can't code in VB during weekdays so yeah. Google would be your friend for this one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altimage Posted March 3, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 23 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 96 Reputation: 1 Joined: 03/07/12 Last Seen: January 19, 2023 Share Posted March 3, 2014 Thank you so much ^ ^ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neo-Mind Posted March 4, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 22 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 806 Reputation: 221 Joined: 03/13/12 Last Seen: September 17, 2024 Share Posted March 4, 2014 I was just wondering what the purpose of this launcher is . My understanding is that the launcher served as a login screen to enter your credentials then launch the game / patcher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sandbox Posted March 4, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 38 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 949 Reputation: 174 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: Friday at 12:25 PM Author Share Posted March 4, 2014 This would serve great as a one-way directory for your players, you can easily redirect them to your applications, website, etc! You can use this to create a one-click access to your website/forums/wiki/patcher/exe. You can even use this like an offline NPC with the proper idea and coding. The possibilities are limitless, i'm just showing one of its purposes, what you only need is to imagine and improvise Visual Basic/C# is a great OOP language which is used in some of the 3rd party tools that you see in our forums.. Even Visual C++ which is used by most people as rAthena's compiler only, which is sad since it has more uses like the one stated above. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Microsoft Posted March 5, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 21 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 244 Reputation: 17 Joined: 11/19/11 Last Seen: March 31, 2015 Share Posted March 5, 2014 Can you please give me the codes where I can put the website link? Thank you sandbox. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emmanskillz Posted March 5, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 8 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 36 Reputation: 1 Joined: 04/19/13 Last Seen: June 18, 2018 Share Posted March 5, 2014 Thank You For This Sandbox Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sandbox Posted March 5, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 38 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 949 Reputation: 174 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: Friday at 12:25 PM Author Share Posted March 5, 2014 Can you please give me the codes where I can put the website link? Thank you sandbox. You can google codes easily. Anyways, here's the code http://visualbasic.ittoolbox.com/groups/technical-functional/visualbasic-l/open-a-website-on-clicking-a-command-button-in-vb-60-windows-application-1223688 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neo-Mind Posted March 5, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 22 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 806 Reputation: 221 Joined: 03/13/12 Last Seen: September 17, 2024 Share Posted March 5, 2014 The solution presented at the top is dependent on whether the target system has IE. but someone has provided a better code a little lower. Im just copying it below which should be the apt way of doing it. Dim x As Long x = ShellExecute(large.hwnd, "Open", "http://www.windostat.org", &O0, &O0, 0) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ngoclong19 Posted March 19, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 0 Topics Per Day: 0 Content Count: 18 Reputation: 0 Joined: 02/12/14 Last Seen: December 29, 2016 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Wow, that Visual Basic works like a charm on Windows 8.1. I missed VB6 since I used Windows 7. Now I don't need a VM to run Windows XP anymore. Thank you sandbox! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sandbox Posted March 19, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 38 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 949 Reputation: 174 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: Friday at 12:25 PM Author Share Posted March 19, 2014 Thanks! I can't even remember where I got that portable software xD Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myth Posted October 1, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 59 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 225 Reputation: 5 Joined: 05/30/12 Last Seen: March 21 Share Posted October 1, 2014 cool tut Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
uyjulian Posted October 16, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 25 Reputation: 0 Joined: 04/18/13 Last Seen: February 12, 2022 Share Posted October 16, 2014 I might make an addition to this tutorial about how to add cmd line switches (1rag1) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vBrenth Posted February 17, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 35 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 311 Reputation: 46 Joined: 11/06/11 Last Seen: Monday at 03:56 PM Share Posted February 17, 2015 I might make an addition to this tutorial about how to add cmd line switches (1rag1) Uhm sorry to bump any result to this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted February 28, 2015 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 748 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted February 28, 2015 again, I missed something cool sandbox @_@ u should come back here for a while to give a thank to u for this guide. it's been years since last time I use VB6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joelolopez Posted March 4, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 154 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 493 Reputation: 46 Joined: 01/24/12 Last Seen: August 25, 2022 Share Posted March 4, 2015 i hope he include some login feature tutorial to the launcher using vb6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
uyjulian Posted March 12, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 25 Reputation: 0 Joined: 04/18/13 Last Seen: February 12, 2022 Share Posted March 12, 2015 (edited) I might make an addition to this tutorial about how to add cmd line switches (1rag1) Uhm sorry to bump any result to this? Shell("/path/to/rag.exe -1rag1 (other args)") Edited March 12, 2015 by uyjulian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.