Popular Post Aleos Posted April 1, 2022 Group: Development Manager Topic Count: 56 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 732 Reputation: 525 Joined: 12/13/11 Last Seen: June 13, 2024 Popular Post Share Posted April 1, 2022 So long yaml-cpp, hello rapidyaml! As of Git Hash: d1b7061, rAthena has transitioned from using yaml-cpp as the 3rd party tool for parsing YAML files to rapidyaml (or ryml). What this means: The yaml-cpp library gave us a great start into the world of yaml, but as we made more conversions of our databases from CSV to YAML, the load time began to grow. The ryml content is parsed into a single index-based array which is not like any standard STL. On average, ryml parses YAML at about ~150MB/s on Linux and ~100MB/s on Windows (vs2017). Compared to yaml-cpp, ryml is in general between 10 and 70 times faster! An optimization was also made to itemdb_searchname1 function which reduced its complexity to constant. Item database parsing function also has reduced complexity to linear complexity. This results in reduced loading time in debug mode to a fifth compared to using yaml-cpp! What this means to developers: Overall testing and usage of rAthena is much faster, in debug and release modes. We’ve kept our YamlDatabase class the same! This means that over 99% of the structure from using yaml-cpp carried over to ryml in terms of source side work. The YAML files themselves require no updates or changes! Other than that, enjoy the extra speed! Thanks to @Lemongrass, @Secrets, and @nitrous for their help in getting this implemented! PS: I realize I posted this on April 1st, but I can guarantee this update is quite the contrary! 7 5 4 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kakaroto Posted April 1, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 99 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 635 Reputation: 95 Joined: 05/11/12 Last Seen: 8 hours ago Share Posted April 1, 2022 Congrants! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Start_ Posted April 2, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 26 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 950 Reputation: 180 Joined: 04/05/13 Last Seen: 1 hour ago Share Posted April 2, 2022 Nice! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtester Posted April 2, 2022 Group: Developer Topic Count: 37 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 894 Reputation: 248 Joined: 01/30/13 Last Seen: 12 hours ago Share Posted April 2, 2022 In case someone else runs into it: This updates makes VS require Windows 10 SDK to compile. If you are still running Windows 8.1 like me, it could be that you can't compile rAthena anymore. But! You can just install Windows 10 SDK on Windows 8.1. It will tell you that the OS is not supported during installation, but it works anyway. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singe Horizontal Posted April 2, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 6 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 26 Reputation: 36 Joined: 03/26/20 Last Seen: 6 hours ago Share Posted April 2, 2022 Thank you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hendra814 Posted April 13, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 59 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1278 Reputation: 170 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: 41 minutes ago Share Posted April 13, 2022 (edited) On 4/2/2022 at 2:39 PM, Playtester said: In case someone else runs into it: This updates makes VS require Windows 10 SDK to compile. If you are still running Windows 8.1 like me, it could be that you can't compile rAthena anymore. But! You can just install Windows 10 SDK on Windows 8.1. It will tell you that the OS is not supported during installation, but it works anyway. Sorry i got error when compile even already have Windows 10 SDK. But sorry i can't post the error because using it at another laptop. here the error Spoiler and this my visual studio installed packages. Spoiler please tell me what i've been missed. Edited April 13, 2022 by hendra814 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sallycantdance Posted April 13, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 224 Topics Per Day: 0.14 Content Count: 796 Reputation: 12 Joined: 12/04/20 Last Seen: 14 hours ago Share Posted April 13, 2022 nice work ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aleDsz Posted April 14, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 2 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 17 Reputation: 0 Joined: 04/13/13 Last Seen: December 21, 2024 Share Posted April 14, 2022 16 hours ago, hendra814 said: Sorry i got error when compile even already have Windows 10 SDK. But sorry i can't post the error because using it at another laptop. here the error Reveal hidden contents and this my visual studio installed packages. Reveal hidden contents please tell me what i've been missed. 1. Clean your solution 2. Close your Visual Studio 3. Delete the .vs folder (D:\Rathena\.vs) 4. Open the solution again and rebuild it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hendra814 Posted April 15, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 59 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1278 Reputation: 170 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: 41 minutes ago Share Posted April 15, 2022 On 4/14/2022 at 8:04 AM, aleDsz said: 1. Clean your solution 2. Close your Visual Studio 3. Delete the .vs folder (D:\Rathena\.vs) 4. Open the solution again and rebuild it Still get error. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtester Posted April 15, 2022 Group: Developer Topic Count: 37 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 894 Reputation: 248 Joined: 01/30/13 Last Seen: 12 hours ago Share Posted April 15, 2022 Hmm, it's definitely not finding Windows SDK 10.0 even though it looks you have it installed going by the screenshot (you made sure to update after selecting those I hope)? Maybe try installing Visual Studio 2022. That's what I did. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hendra814 Posted April 16, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 59 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1278 Reputation: 170 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: 41 minutes ago Share Posted April 16, 2022 21 hours ago, Playtester said: Hmm, it's definitely not finding Windows SDK 10.0 even though it looks you have it installed going by the screenshot (you made sure to update after selecting those I hope)? Maybe try installing Visual Studio 2022. That's what I did. Thanks for the information, already tried with visual studio 2022 and it's success. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dimas_shotta93 Posted July 21, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 9 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 32 Reputation: 17 Joined: 05/18/20 Last Seen: 8 hours ago Share Posted July 21, 2022 On 4/16/2022 at 9:33 PM, hendra814 said: Thanks for the information, already tried with visual studio 2022 and it's success. I already installed VS 2022 but i got a lot of error, how to install VS 2022, anyone can guide me please Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jackel2013 Posted October 16, 2022 Group: Members Topic Count: 8 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 38 Reputation: 0 Joined: 11/18/12 Last Seen: November 23, 2022 Share Posted October 16, 2022 is there a turotial setup for yaml rathena server? since prev turorial only use 3 server now it includes web server and got a lot of error after compiling. dont know how. thanks in advance. i really need it some tutorial Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hendra814 Posted February 16, 2023 Group: Members Topic Count: 59 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1278 Reputation: 170 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: 41 minutes ago Share Posted February 16, 2023 can someone share item_cash.yml example always failed when add cash item Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LearningRO Posted February 16, 2023 Group: Members Topic Count: 107 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 778 Reputation: 72 Joined: 02/10/12 Last Seen: Friday at 08:29 AM Share Posted February 16, 2023 1 hour ago, hendra814 said: can someone share item_cash.yml example always failed when add cash item - Tab: Hot Items: - Item: Neuralizer Price: 50 - Item: Battle_Manual Price: 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hendra814 Posted February 17, 2023 Group: Members Topic Count: 59 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1278 Reputation: 170 Joined: 06/12/12 Last Seen: 41 minutes ago Share Posted February 17, 2023 8 hours ago, LearningRO said: - Tab: Hot Items: - Item: Neuralizer Price: 50 - Item: Battle_Manual Price: 2 Thanks you so much for this Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LearningRO Posted February 17, 2023 Group: Members Topic Count: 107 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 778 Reputation: 72 Joined: 02/10/12 Last Seen: Friday at 08:29 AM Share Posted February 17, 2023 23 minutes ago, hendra814 said: Thanks you so much for this sama2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.