Jump to content

roBrowser Electron Version


RavenheartZ

Recommended Posts


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  4
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  17
  • Reputation:   7
  • Joined:  09/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

Hi everyone,

As I stated on this topic I have improved the Electron solution for roBrowser.

Features:

  • Windowed desktop application with multiple platform support
  • Custom client with full source control (roBrowser)
  • Support to parse local data files using bundled "remote client" (replaces roBrowser's PHP one) *
  • Bundled client X server proxy
  • No need for a web host to run the client

* The GRF files parse still needs to be implemented. Currently only reading unpacked files.

It may look weird to use a browser client locally, so to put it simple:

- Why would I use this instead of the regular client?

A: To have full control over the client source code

- Why would I use this instead of the default roBrowser client?

A: To avoid the need of a web host. To fix the slow loading time of the files remotely. To provide your players a standalone application.

Set-up Guide

1. Clone the repository below:

git clone https://github.com/wjrosa/roBrowser-electron

2. Create your .env file using .env.example as base (copy it, rename and put in the same folder). Do not change the remote client and proxy configurations if you want to use everything locally.

3. Install the dependencies:

yarn install

4. Copy robrowser's source code to the folder: src/robrowser/

5. Extract your data into roBrowser's data folder: robrowser/client/data

6. Copy the proxy source code to the folder: src/wsproxy/

7. Install the proxy dependencies:

yarn install

8. Start the client:

yarn start

 

To build the client for distribution you need to run:

yarn make

 

PS: Make sure you have Packet Obfuscation disabled on the server and that you use the same PACKETVER as the client.

 

Edited by RavenheartZ
  • Upvote 1
  • Love 4
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  8
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  63
  • Reputation:   35
  • Joined:  07/04/19
  • Last Seen:  

This looks cool, i'll test it now 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  94
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  191
  • Reputation:   138
  • Joined:  09/24/12
  • Last Seen:  

Very cool what you did, I will follow your project o/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  11
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  23
  • Reputation:   1
  • Joined:  09/28/12
  • Last Seen:  

know how to guide how to configure the robrowser to read my grf ?!

when I set up my remote client he can't find it.

more leaving straight through the link of the robrowser he loads.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  4
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  17
  • Reputation:   7
  • Joined:  09/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

This version of the roBrowser above does not support GRF reading yet as I mentioned in the topic.

For the default version, I will answer on your PM.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  29
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  99
  • Reputation:   2
  • Joined:  02/23/14
  • Last Seen:  

can support gepard shield ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  4
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  17
  • Reputation:   7
  • Joined:  09/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

Not sure (never used it), it have the same base as roBrowser. So it can if roBrowser can.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  6
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  14
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  07/25/20
  • Last Seen:  

can you explain more detailed that part 4,5 and 6 for someone who doest know these kinds of stuff, like using prompt and .env files... ty

Edited by Volskis
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  16
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  08/12/12
  • Last Seen:  

Does that work with android/ios browser?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  4
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  10/19/19
  • Last Seen:  

Please make video tutoriala how to use sir thank you

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  55
  • Reputation:   4
  • Joined:  02/19/19
  • Last Seen:  

Thanks for this, gepard supported??

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  4
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  10/19/19
  • Last Seen:  

how to fix the language of this button and the others?

Untitled.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  23
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  78
  • Reputation:   6
  • Joined:  11/26/12
  • Last Seen:  

this ro browser support client 20200401?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  4
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  17
  • Reputation:   7
  • Joined:  09/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

On 4/6/2021 at 12:18 AM, Volskis said:

can you explain more detailed that part 4,5 and 6 for someone who doest know these kinds of stuff, like using prompt and .env files... ty

I have updated the tutorial to give more information.

 

On 4/12/2021 at 4:25 PM, KrispiKreme said:

Does that work with android/ios browser?

No, Electron is used to create native windowed applications for Windows, Linux and MacOS. You can try to use the default roBrowser for that (not my version).

 

On 4/12/2021 at 8:21 PM, MicromeX said:

Please make video tutoriala how to use sir thank you

I tried to be more clear as I could in the topic. Sorry, but I don't have time to make a video ?

 

On 4/13/2021 at 1:03 AM, DevJJ said:

Thanks for this, gepard supported??

Not sure. If the default roBrowser supports it, so this will do (but I think it does not).

 

On 4/21/2021 at 7:49 AM, mazvi said:

this ro browser support client 20200401?

I think the newest versions lack some implementation on the default roBrowser. So you may experience some errors. The best client to use is the old one 20120410

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  1
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  06/09/17
  • Last Seen:  

As a complete beginner, would be nice to have a more detailed guide, maybe a video teaching how to run it...
I don't know which data to put on the data folder or where to find it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 6 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  74
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  420
  • Reputation:   89
  • Joined:  01/30/12
  • Last Seen:  

This version is my fork of roBrowser and although it is much more advanced that the original repo, it still needs a lot of development. If anyone can help please contribute to it:

https://github.com/MrAntares/Ragna.roBrowser

Edited by Antares
  • Upvote 4
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...