Neo-Mind Posted September 23, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 22 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 806 Reputation: 221 Joined: 03/13/12 Last Seen: September 17, 2024 Share Posted September 23, 2014 IntroductionWell this idea came up when evilpunker asked about the possibility of having a patch which loads a second file which overrides the iteminfo file. But there is a better way to do that with lua itself.How to do it?The key idea is that the item information is added using the main function by the client. so in your custom file you just need to modify the main function to accept your items. Here is how it can be done. -- Load the original file. As you might have guessed you can also load your translated file here instead -- (just make sure the "tbl" array contains your item info) dofile("System/iteminfo.lub") -- Now as a simple example . I am simply going to change name of Red Potion to Crimson Potion. -- But you can add anything in the same way. Format is same as the original one, just -- the table name is different tbl_custom = { [501] = { unidentifiedDisplayName = "Crimson Potion", unidentifiedResourceName = "»¡°£Æ÷¼Ç", unidentifiedDescriptionName = { "A potion made from", "grinded Red Herbs that", "restores ^000088about 45 HP^000000.", "^ffffff_^000000", "Weight: ^7777777^000000" }, identifiedDisplayName = "Crimson Potion", identifiedResourceName = "»¡°£Æ÷¼Ç", identifiedDescriptionName = { "^000088HP Recovery Item^000000", "A potion made from", "grinded Red Herbs that", "restores ^000088about 45 HP^000000.", "^ffffff_^000000", "Weight: ^7777777^000000" }, slotCount = 0, ClassNum = 0 }, } -- Now for a helper function because i hate repetitions -- It adds items from curTable if it is not present in refTable function itemAdder(curTable, refTable) for ItemID,DESC in pairs(curTable) do if refTable == nil or refTable[ItemID] == nil then result, msg = AddItem(ItemID, DESC.unidentifiedDisplayName, DESC.unidentifiedResourceName, DESC.identifiedDisplayName, DESC.identifiedResourceName, DESC.slotCount, DESC.ClassNum) if not result then return false, msg end for k,v in pairs(DESC.unidentifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemUnidentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end for k,v in pairs(DESC.identifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemIdentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end end end return true, "good" end -- And the newly designed main function function main() result, msg = itemAdder(tbl_custom, nil) -- add custom items (including official overrides) if result then result, msg = itemAdder(tbl, tbl_custom) -- add non-overridden official items end return result, msg end How is it useful?Think how item_db2.txt is useful for adding custom items in a server. Its the same strategy here.You can keep your official items in a base file (or you can just use the official iteminfo.lub file if you want the korean names)and keep your custom items in a different file (make sure the first dofile function calls the base file).The above code is error free, so feel free to copy and add your items . Hope the topic was not too confusing The lua code can be further expanded for overriding only parts of an official item. But i will leave that update for the future P.S. The client should be patched to accept your custom file not the base file. 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted September 23, 2014 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted September 23, 2014 yeah, finally. I'm waiting for this. And forgot to ask you somelike "Neo, can u make patch so client can use other lua files to overwrite existing files instead of "read this file instead the original ones" at least for itemInfo.lua" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emistry Posted October 10, 2014 Group: Forum Moderator Topic Count: 93 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 10017 Reputation: 2369 Joined: 10/28/11 Last Seen: Wednesday at 12:29 PM Share Posted October 10, 2014 does it capable to support more than 2 itemInfo.lub ?? Example: System/itemInfo_1.lub System/itemInfo_2.lub System/itemInfo_3.lub System/itemInfo_4.lub dofile("System/itemInfo_1.lub") dofile("System/itemInfo_2.lub") dofile("System/itemInfo_3.lub") dofile("System/itemInfo_4.lub") it doesnt seem to work if i add like this. any idea ? if it does support, anything i missed ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neo-Mind Posted October 11, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 22 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 806 Reputation: 221 Joined: 03/13/12 Last Seen: September 17, 2024 Author Share Posted October 11, 2014 (edited) You can try it that way but you will need to put the dofile calls inside the main function of the target iteminfo file and also call the main function with no arguments after each dofile call. Edited October 11, 2014 by NeoMind Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emistry Posted October 11, 2014 Group: Forum Moderator Topic Count: 93 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 10017 Reputation: 2369 Joined: 10/28/11 Last Seen: Wednesday at 12:29 PM Share Posted October 11, 2014 You can try it that way but you will need to put the dofile calls inside the main function of the target iteminfo file and also call the main function with no arguments after each dofile call. erm... kinda confuse... not familiar with LUB coding i tried put 4 dofile() inside itemInfo.lub to connect to other itemInfo_XYZ.lub but doesnt work for my case ( item appear as apple/unknown ) if you dont mind, can provide me some examples ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neo-Mind Posted October 11, 2014 Group: Members Topic Count: 22 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 806 Reputation: 221 Joined: 03/13/12 Last Seen: September 17, 2024 Author Share Posted October 11, 2014 (edited) OK I have come up with a different solution for the cases when you want to load the data from many files (assuming you can edit them). Put the following in a file and make the client load it. -- Define Some arrays and constants iiFiles = {"System/itemInfo_1.lub", "System/itemInfo_2.lub", "System/itemInfo_3.lub", "System/itemInfo_4.lub"} -- List of Files to Read which contains the tables iiTables = {tbl_1, tbl_2, tbl_3, tbl_4} -- List of Table Names read from the files in decreasing order of priority iiNum = table.getn(iiTables) -- Number of Entries in above array. initID = 501 -- First Item ID (Don't change this one unless Gravity decided to put lower values for ItemIDs) lastID = 32767 -- Last Item ID (Does not matter if some Item IDs in between are not defined, they will be skipped automatically.) --#############################################################################-- -- Do Not Modify anything beyond this point unless you know what you are doing.-- --#############################################################################-- -- Read the Tables in the Lua files mentioned for index = 0, iiNum-1, 1 do dofile(iiFiles[index]) end -- Define a new main function that looks through all the tables. function main() for ItemID = initID, lastID, 1 do for index = 0, iiNum-1, 1 do -- Iterate through each table curTable = iiTables[index] if curTable != nil && curTable[ItemID] != nil then -- Check if Table is valid and it has an entry for ItemID. ITEMDATA = curTable[ItemID] result, msg = AddItem(ItemID, ITEMDATA.unidentifiedDisplayName, ITEMDATA.unidentifiedResourceName, ITEMDATA.identifiedDisplayName, ITEMDATA.identifiedResourceName, ITEMDATA.slotCount, ITEMDATA.ClassNum) if not result then return false, msg end for k,v in pairs(ITEMDATA.unidentifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemUnidentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end for k,v in pairs(ITEMDATA.identifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemIdentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end index = iiNum -- alternative to continue statement (No More Tables need to be checked) end -- if curTable end -- for index end -- for ItemID return true, "good" end When you simply dofile the tbl array gets overwritten each time. so you need to rename those to proper names.Here the assumption is that tbl_1 is defined in ItemInfo_1 file, tbl_2 in ItemInfo_2 file etc. Hope this was clear. Edited October 12, 2014 by NeoMind 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emistry Posted October 11, 2014 Group: Forum Moderator Topic Count: 93 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 10017 Reputation: 2369 Joined: 10/28/11 Last Seen: Wednesday at 12:29 PM Share Posted October 11, 2014 I see, perhap it's table name issue previously. Thx for the help. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cydh Posted December 25, 2014 Group: Developer Topic Count: 153 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 2285 Reputation: 747 Joined: 06/16/12 Last Seen: February 21 Share Posted December 25, 2014 (edited) hmm, failed. using 2013-08-07 first at if curTable != nil && curTable[ItemID] != nil then -- Check if Table is valid and it has an entry for ItemID. changed "!=" to "~=" and "&&" to "and" 2nd, show error window "CItemInfoMgr: cannot read stdin: Bad file descriptor" EDIT: Read my signature for multiple System/itemInfo.lua Edited October 21, 2018 by Cydh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AngelaKiss Posted March 9, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 66 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 223 Reputation: 4 Joined: 02/23/12 Last Seen: March 8 Share Posted March 9, 2015 (edited) NICE =d Edited March 9, 2015 by AngelZito Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sikiro Posted March 8, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 16 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 171 Reputation: 16 Joined: 01/26/12 Last Seen: January 1, 2024 Share Posted March 8, 2017 Sorry for reviving an old Post but does this work with lua files instead of lubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
anacondaq Posted March 8, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 42 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1096 Reputation: 348 Joined: 02/26/12 Last Seen: May 30, 2023 Share Posted March 8, 2017 4 minutes ago, sikiro said: Sorry for reviving an old Post but does this work with lua files instead of lubs. yes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikegyver Posted March 8, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 399 Reputation: 69 Joined: 12/26/15 Last Seen: December 24, 2022 Share Posted March 8, 2017 Perhaps this might be the alternative for add custom item. http://herc.ws/board/topic/11686-guide-adding-new-items-without-iteminfolub/#entry77704 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emistry Posted March 21, 2017 Group: Forum Moderator Topic Count: 93 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 10017 Reputation: 2369 Joined: 10/28/11 Last Seen: Wednesday at 12:29 PM Share Posted March 21, 2017 On 3/9/2017 at 2:37 AM, hazimjauhari90 said: Perhaps this might be the alternative for add custom item. http://herc.ws/board/topic/11686-guide-adding-new-items-without-iteminfolub/#entry77704 that option isn't really an ideal alternative to add custom. basically it just append another item description to the same items. just imagine the size of your item description when you created an item with super long description ... o-o not to mention the trouble you have to go through to search for item description to add/edit Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shadowofdoom Posted March 24, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 1 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 3 Reputation: 0 Joined: 01/28/13 Last Seen: January 15, 2020 Share Posted March 24, 2017 (edited) Hello. How exactly we apply this patch? Could you please give detailed steps on how to do it. I'm a total newbie to this topic, so please pardon me. EDIT: Figured it out. Thank you very much! EDIT2: The custom item's sprite strangely couldn't be loaded. I'm using the default script above. -- Load the original file. As you might have guessed you can also load your translated file here instead -- (just make sure the "tbl" array contains your item info) dofile("System/iteminfo.lub") -- Now as a simple example . I am simply going to change name of Red Potion to Crimson Potion. -- But you can add anything in the same way. Format is same as the original one, just -- the table name is different tbl_custom = { [501] = { unidentifiedDisplayName = "Crimson Potion", unidentifiedResourceName = "»¡°£Æ÷¼Ç", unidentifiedDescriptionName = { "A potion made from", "grinded Red Herbs that", "restores ^000088about 45 HP^000000.", "^ffffff_^000000", "Weight: ^7777777^000000" }, identifiedDisplayName = "Crimson Potion", identifiedResourceName = "»¡°£Æ÷¼Ç", identifiedDescriptionName = { "^000088HP Recovery Item^000000", "A potion made from", "grinded Red Herbs that", "restores ^000088about 45 HP^000000.", "^ffffff_^000000", "Weight: ^7777777^000000" }, slotCount = 0, ClassNum = 0 }, } -- Now for a helper function because i hate repetitions -- It adds items from curTable if it is not present in refTable function itemAdder(curTable, refTable) for ItemID,DESC in pairs(curTable) do if refTable == nil or refTable[ItemID] == nil then result, msg = AddItem(ItemID, DESC.unidentifiedDisplayName, DESC.unidentifiedResourceName, DESC.identifiedDisplayName, DESC.identifiedResourceName, DESC.slotCount, DESC.ClassNum) if not result then return false, msg end for k,v in pairs(DESC.unidentifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemUnidentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end for k,v in pairs(DESC.identifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemIdentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end end end return true, "good" end -- And the newly designed main function function main() result, msg = itemAdder(tbl_custom, nil) -- add custom items (including official overrides) if result then result, msg = itemAdder(tbl, tbl_custom) -- add non-overridden official items end return result, msg end My client version is 2015-11-04aRagexe.exe EDIT3: Solved. Turns out the script only read the data folder while ignoring GRF files. All of my sprites are in GRF files, that's why the error occured. Edited March 25, 2017 by shadowofdoom Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikegyver Posted March 27, 2017 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 399 Reputation: 69 Joined: 12/26/15 Last Seen: December 24, 2022 Share Posted March 27, 2017 On 3/21/2017 at 11:31 AM, Emistry said: that option isn't really an ideal alternative to add custom. basically it just append another item description to the same items. just imagine the size of your item description when you created an item with super long description ... o-o not to mention the trouble you have to go through to search for item description to add/edit for me.. it depends on the user itself.. if the user are transitioning from older client which previously used idnum2tables. perhaps the solution that i've posted above is for them are much easier.. i can on the client side support & request, there are a quite few people are still don't know how to use itemInfo.. so if they would like to continue using old method in adding custom item, this solution might be ideal for them.xD Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slyx Posted October 20, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 19 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 57 Reputation: 9 Joined: 03/05/18 Last Seen: January 29, 2019 Share Posted October 20, 2018 @shadowofdoom @Anacondaqq i know this is an old topic but how do I apply this patch? I am still learning about this new thing 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dantoki Posted December 3, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 67 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 235 Reputation: 42 Joined: 10/21/12 Last Seen: Wednesday at 06:52 PM Share Posted December 3, 2018 On 10/21/2018 at 5:15 AM, Slyx said: @shadowofdoom @Anacondaqq i know this is an old topic but how do I apply this patch? I am still learning about this new thing yeah how to apply this patch ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iwillnot Posted December 17, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 12 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 51 Reputation: 23 Joined: 04/28/12 Last Seen: April 22, 2022 Share Posted December 17, 2018 What it does Allows you to have two files in your System folder; One for the standard RO item descriptions, and one for your custom items. It is useful in the same way that item_db2.txt contains your custom files while the standard RO files are in item_db.txt. How to implement it Step 1. Create your secondary file in your System folder. In my example below, it uses iteminfo.au.lub. Step 2. Using an updated NEMO Client patcher, hex your client such that it uses the Load Custom lua file instead of iteminfo.lub patch. Step 3. On your iteminfo.au.lub, use the following format as a template: dofile("System/iteminfo.lub") tbl_custom = { [30001] = { unidentifiedDisplayName = "Old Red Box", unidentifiedResourceName = "빨간상자", unidentifiedDescriptionName = { }, identifiedDisplayName = "Old Red Box", identifiedResourceName = "빨간상자", identifiedDescriptionName = { "A box that glows with a mysterious, red color. If you open it, something good may be inside.", "^FFFFFF_^000000", "Weight:^009900 20^000000" }, slotCount = 0, ClassNum = 0, costume = false }, } -- Now for a helper function because i hate repetitions -- It adds items from curTable if it is not present in refTable function itemAdder(curTable, refTable) for ItemID,DESC in pairs(curTable) do if refTable == nil or refTable[ItemID] == nil then result, msg = AddItem(ItemID,DESC.unidentifiedDisplayName,DESC.unidentifiedResourceName,DESC.identifiedDisplayName,DESC.identifiedResourceName, DESC.slotCount, DESC.ClassNum) if not result then return false, msg end for k,v in pairs(DESC.unidentifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemUnidentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end for k,v in pairs(DESC.identifiedDescriptionName) do result, msg = AddItemIdentifiedDesc(ItemID, v) if not result then return false, msg end end end end return true, "good" end -- And the newly designed main function function main() result, msg = itemAdder(tbl_custom, nil) -- add custom items (including official overrides) if result then result, msg = itemAdder(tbl, tbl_custom) -- add non-overridden official items end return result, msg end Explanation 1. It first executes the file found in System/iteminfo.lub, which allows you to load the standard RO files. 2. Then, you define tbl_custom, which is your custom items and their definitions. 3. The itemAdder function is used to prioritize information from tbl_custom over the standard tbl of items. 4. The main function is re-designed to do facilitate this behavior. Reminders When editing your iteminfo.lub, make sure that you save the file using the EUC-KR encoding and NOT UTF-8, or else your client will not be able to understand the resource names. Supposedly, if you only use Notepad++ you would not encounter any problems with such. However, I use Visual Studio Code and it annoyingly opens my file using UTF-8 encoding. I hope that was a much more clear explanation of how to do this. If anything is unclear or incorrect, please inform me so I can edit my post. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.