Diana Posted January 6, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 85 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 194 Reputation: 3 Joined: 12/17/16 Last Seen: April 1 Share Posted January 6, 2018 How to update my server via git without loseing any of my files? it will effect on my item db or mob db? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 Technoken Posted January 6, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 27 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 505 Reputation: 127 Joined: 04/04/16 Last Seen: April 13 Share Posted January 6, 2018 git stash save git pull git stash pop stash save will save your current modifications. pull will update your trunk to the latest hash and stash pop will merge your modifications to your newly updated trunk. 4 minutes ago, Diana said: it will effect on my item db or mob db? It will affect it if there's an update on item db and mob db but stash pop will put back the modifications you made. usually conflicts arise when you have modifications that will conflict the update. I usually fix conflicts manually (applying the update without removing the conflicted modification). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 kimok02 Posted January 6, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 15 Reputation: 0 Joined: 01/18/13 Last Seen: April 17, 2023 Share Posted January 6, 2018 43 minutes ago, Technoken said: git stash save git pull git stash pop stash save will save your current modifications. pull will update your trunk to the latest hash and stash pop will merge your modifications to your newly updated trunk. It will affect it if there's an update on item db and mob db but stash pop will put back the modifications you made. usually conflicts arise when you have modifications that will conflict the update. I usually fix conflicts manually (applying the update without removing the conflicted modification). Sir if do this do we need to recompile server back? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 Diana Posted January 6, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 85 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 194 Reputation: 3 Joined: 12/17/16 Last Seen: April 1 Author Share Posted January 6, 2018 6 minutes ago, kimok02 said: Sir if do this do we need to recompile server back? If the update contain any edits for src folder or maps We can say Yes you will need to recompile the server Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 kimok02 Posted January 6, 2018 Group: Members Topic Count: 4 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 15 Reputation: 0 Joined: 01/18/13 Last Seen: April 17, 2023 Share Posted January 6, 2018 1 minute ago, Diana said: If the update contain any edits for src folder or maps We can say Yes you will need to recompile the server oh ya hahaha i has check rathena svn they just update it 4 day ago Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 Diana Posted April 23, 2020 Group: Members Topic Count: 85 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 194 Reputation: 3 Joined: 12/17/16 Last Seen: April 1 Author Share Posted April 23, 2020 Hello , I wan't to update my current server I will lose my custom files in src and item_db or not? and what's the commands to do this I see in other topic using git but I can't find the commands Any help please? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 Start_ Posted April 24, 2020 Group: Members Topic Count: 26 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 950 Reputation: 180 Joined: 04/05/13 Last Seen: 5 hours ago Share Posted April 24, 2020 Are you using git programs to download rAthena? If yes just press fetch & pull then see the conflict and solve them. If not you need to manualy update it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 Diana Posted April 25, 2020 Group: Members Topic Count: 85 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 194 Reputation: 3 Joined: 12/17/16 Last Seen: April 1 Author Share Posted April 25, 2020 @Start_ using CentOS 7 no apps just git command I know? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 shatowolf Posted April 25, 2020 Group: Members Topic Count: 3 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 259 Reputation: 35 Joined: 11/19/11 Last Seen: April 9 Share Posted April 25, 2020 On 4/24/2020 at 1:37 AM, Diana said: Hello , I wan't to update my current server I will lose my custom files in src and item_db or not? and what's the commands to do this I see in other topic using git but I can't find the commands Any help please? Yow mate. this question already answered, just search first. or google, it wont hurt you. Thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0 Xanthor Posted July 12, 2020 Group: Members Topic Count: 11 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 26 Reputation: 7 Joined: 11/07/15 Last Seen: August 23, 2020 Share Posted July 12, 2020 On 4/24/2020 at 8:43 PM, shatowolf said: Yow mate. this question already answered, just search first. or google, it wont hurt you. Thanks. I think they might have similar issues to what I myself been going through. I actually found this post and quite a few others with similar to same instructions. When I did my first install over a month ago using the tutorial, I ran into similar issues because mysql workbench had an overhaul and half the features were renamed. I got around that switching to Xampp server which had all the features or at least most of them. As for updating, which is what got me here, most instructions were dated from 2015 to 2017. This post so far is the latest I found. My issue, most of what should be simple to do is confusing to me, and most likely similar reasons like with the workbench facelift. It seems the newest versions of git or tortoise git is not showing things like gitpop or other terms Im reading. Looking at older images I see similar layouts with the terms mentioned above, yet what I have is missing them. Im most likely going to have to just compare the old to new images to figure out the new interface, but figure I give a heads up on why so many posts are getting repeated. Take care and be safe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Question
Diana
How to update my server via git without loseing any of my files?
it will effect on my item db or mob db?
Link to comment
Share on other sites
9 answers to this question
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.