Jump to content

Map weather effect client plugin


curiosity

Recommended Posts


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

Hi all.

 

After reading about Ai4rei's little discovery I decided to try and make a client plugin.

 

This plugin gives you a new config file, mapeffecttable.txt, which allows you to set weather effects and modify 3D renderer clear color ("sky color") for maps. Now you can add clouds and blue sky (like in Juno and Kunlun) to any map without modifying the client or having to replace the effect from an old map.

 

I just made this today and haven't tested very much, so there will likely be bugs. Also I've only tested on Windows XP running as administrator user, so YMMV.

 

This release only works for 2012-04-10 client, it will crash all other clients!!

 

Update: Now available for 2013-08-07 in addition to 2012-04-10

 

Weather effect overview:

 

[table]

EffectDescription

mapleFalling maple leaves

nightNight mode

pokjukFireworks

sakuraFalling cherry tree petals

skyCloud effects (many different)

snowFalling snowflakes

[/table]

 

Example: to add snow weather to Prontera you simply add an entry in the config like this:

prontera.rsw    0x00000000    snow    0

pIzFsZS.jpg

 

More interesting Yuno:

 

10700100_477554152386315_656530757011832

 

To install, put rdll2.asi in your client folder and put mapeffecttable.txt in your data folder. Also note it will not work if you have sound disabled.

 

Download

Edited by curiosity
  • Upvote 10
  • Love 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  87
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  1335
  • Reputation:   932
  • Joined:  10/26/11
  • Last Seen:  

Hi all.

 

After reading about Ai4rei's little discovery I decided to try and make a client plugin.

Hey man, thats an awesome release! yea we have been replacing the current official maps to have that sky effect til this day, I'll give a try to it later.

Btw, talking about clouds, you know (or everyone?) by a chance how the @clouds effects loads on an especific altitude of a map? I mean, in official maps, no matter if they have a default high or lower altitude accordly to the map default height (you can tell by looking the water level) the effect loads correctly, but in custom maps I don't know where is that value especified. I've been trying the whole night by comparing mostly 3 examples attached above:

 

  • height_10: official ro map, with alttitude 10, shows the @clouds effect fine.
  • height_100: official ro map with altitude 100 (this means low altitude), shows the @clouds effect fine too, even with a huge different altitude
  • height_-50: custom ro map, with altitude -50 (this means high altitude) shows the effect stacked in the height "0" no matter what I try (my issue)

Link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/52175822/map.rar

 

both 3 maps are cleaned up for comparing hex results, and they use the same name of an official map to test easily. Any kind of tip is appreciated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

I've not investigated how cloud altitude is affected by map height (KeyWorld could probably tell you), but I know there is no option in the RSW format to set cloud height.

 

However there are actually many cloud effects, and I suspect this has something to do with your problem.

 

If you use @clouds it will spawn the effect with ID 233, and @clouds2 spawns the effect with ID 516. These effects are only 2 of the 9 different cloud effects present in the 2012-04-10 client. If you look in mapeffecttable.txt in my release you can see a field I call PARAM. This switches which cloud effect the map will use. For instance if this value is set to 3 it will display "misty" clouds at ground level, while PARAM=0 is used for mjolnir_01.rsw where the clouds appear only on the highest point of the map.

 

Parameter reference:

 

[table]

ParameterEffect IDExample map

0229mjolnir_01.rsw

1230gon_dun02.rsw

2233valkyrie.rsw

3515einbroch.rsw

4516airplane.rsw

5592moc_fild22.rsw

6N/AN/A

[email protected]

[email protected]

9945bif_fild01.rsw

[/table]

 

So I think the cloud altitude is affected by which cloud effect you use. With this plugin you can use all of them, so hopefully that solves your problem.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  87
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  1335
  • Reputation:   932
  • Joined:  10/26/11
  • Last Seen:  

Man, thank you a lot! the effect #229 loads accordly to gat altitude, which solved my issue since I can load it by my altitude of my map. If I have some free time, I think I'll give a try to the others sky effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  806
  • Reputation:   220
  • Joined:  03/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

o_o why didnt see this till today!! Awesome Curiosity :). is it not possible to make it work for other clients?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  13
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  74
  • Reputation:   16
  • Joined:  05/08/12
  • Last Seen:  

Very cool! So lets get this to work on all clients!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  806
  • Reputation:   220
  • Joined:  03/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

Curiosity can you please compile it for release mode. it keeps asking me for MSVCR100D.dll <= debug mode dll.

:)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  9
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  379
  • Reputation:   304
  • Joined:  11/10/11
  • Last Seen:  

Really interesting post, I learned a lot from it.

 

I didn't even investigate about cloud effets, I was thinking clouds got a -10 fixed position and the others maps just some effects stored in rsw file.

 

Thank you for all this informations.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

Oh, forgot that it was debug. Download release mode here.

 

Changes since last time:

  • The rest of the weather effects (maple leaves, sakura, fireworks, night) are now available
  • Should no longer attempt to load with incompatible clients
  • Now listens to /effect option
  • Added some info on the different cloud modes in the config

 

is it not possible to make it work for other clients?

 

It's about the same issue as with client patching. Making it work with one other client is easy, but to work with all clients it'll require a little framework to detect code/offsets automatically. If you are interested in looking into it I can upload the code for you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  806
  • Reputation:   220
  • Joined:  03/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

oh and im so definitely interested :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

oh and im so definitely interested :D

 

Got the code up for you. https://github.com/curio-r/rag-dll

 

Not very pretty though!

 

I didn't even investigate about cloud effets, I was thinking clouds got a -10 fixed position and the others maps just some effects stored in rsw file.

 

Yeah, I was a bit surprised at this discovery myself. However I wonder if it would be possible to add the cloud effect (or other CWeather based effects) by including an effect object in the RSW. Though if it is possible Gravity should have have that in the first place instead of hard coding it in the map initialization routine.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  806
  • Reputation:   220
  • Joined:  03/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

Thanks curiosity :).  I am currently making some modifications into NEMO and i am planning to incorporate this plugin as well.

Infact I have made 1 asi for 2013-08-07 client... would be great if some one could test it (Hopefully it works :D) . The link is below.

 

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcidbnhplsj1q42/rdll2_20130806.asi

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  16
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  128
  • Reputation:   31
  • Joined:  01/21/13
  • Last Seen:  

I definitely will use it õ.õ , thank you a lot!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  15
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  99
  • Reputation:   10
  • Joined:  01/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

Thanks curiosity :).  I am currently making some modifications into NEMO and i am planning to incorporate this plugin as well.

Infact I have made 1 asi for 2013-08-07 client... would be great if some one could test it (Hopefully it works :D) . The link is below.

 

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcidbnhplsj1q42/rdll2_20130806.asi

use 20130807

but . crash..

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  8
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  22
  • Reputation:   3
  • Joined:  04/16/12
  • Last Seen:  

I don't want to beg or anything.. but is someone able to make a 2014-02-05b version from this? xD
I would love to use it but have no idea how to make one... D:

Edited by Creobnil
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

Sorry, not going to happen on my part. I took a look at the 2014-02-05b exe and see that things are switched around a bit again and it's become an even bigger mess. I don't even have an updated server/client, so I can't test anyway.

 

If anyone else wants to try here's a start on the virtual addresses: g_Weather = 0x00C949F0, g_UseEffect = 0x00CCDF64, g_Renderer = 0x00A63918, CWeather::LaunchSnow = 0x00771AE0, CWeather::LaunchCloud = 0x00771CD0 and entry point in CGameMode::Initialize should be at around 0x007EECFD.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  806
  • Reputation:   220
  • Joined:  03/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

i know ... I was making it as an addon in NEMO. I can find the addresses easily but didnt get a chance to look at the new structures yet .

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  31
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  114
  • Reputation:   1
  • Joined:  01/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

is this working on 2013-08-07?

 

i try it but nothing is happening for example.

i put prontera to have snow but when i go in game nothing happen.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

is this working on 2013-08-07?

 

No, only it only works with the 2012 client.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  14
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  67
  • Reputation:   24
  • Joined:  10/06/12
  • Last Seen:  

Oh, forgot that it was debug. Download release mode here.

 

Changes since last time:

  • The rest of the weather effects (maple leaves, sakura, fireworks, night) are now available
  • Should no longer attempt to load with incompatible clients
  • Now listens to /effect option
  • Added some info on the different cloud modes in the config

 

is it not possible to make it work for other clients?

 

It's about the same issue as with client patching. Making it work with one other client is easy, but to work with all clients it'll require a little framework to detect code/offsets automatically. If you are interested in looking into it I can upload the code for you.

link broken :/

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  133
  • Reputation:   189
  • Joined:  05/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  6
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  18
  • Reputation:   7
  • Joined:  07/28/12
  • Last Seen:  

Hey guys, I came to bring a version of plugin mapeffectable
compatible with the hexed 2013-08-07, adapted by me with help of Curiosity.

Download Links:
 

Edited by Suzuya
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  806
  • Reputation:   220
  • Joined:  03/13/12
  • Last Seen:  

nice :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 5 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  53
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  411
  • Reputation:   260
  • Joined:  04/25/12
  • Last Seen:  

On 2013-12-23 client, it will crash?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...