nanakiwurtz Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Share Posted August 27, 2013 I think it could be simplified like this: function script F_RandMes { set .@i, getargcount(); return getarg(rand(1,.@i)); }What do you think? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patskie Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 50 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1702 Reputation: 241 Joined: 09/05/12 Last Seen: November 10, 2024 Share Posted August 27, 2013 It should be : function script F_RandMes { set .@i, getargcount(); return getarg(rand(0,.@i)); } since the first argument will be remove ( number of arguments ) callfunc("F_RandMes",1129,1222,1163,1357,1360,1522,1811,1410); Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanakiwurtz Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Author Share Posted August 27, 2013 function script F_RandMes { set .@i, getargcount()-1; return getarg(rand(0,.@i)); } Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patskie Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 50 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1702 Reputation: 241 Joined: 09/05/12 Last Seen: November 10, 2024 Share Posted August 27, 2013 Ahh i forgot that it will start from 0 haha Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Euphy Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 72 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 2997 Reputation: 1132 Joined: 05/27/12 Last Seen: June 1, 2017 Share Posted August 27, 2013 You can use pull requests for something like this, you know. Want to give it a shot? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeadlySilence Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 7 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 181 Reputation: 53 Joined: 04/07/13 Last Seen: August 23, 2014 Share Posted August 27, 2013 Is there any specific reason a variable is initialized for only one use? Wouldn't function script F_RandMes { return getarg(rand(0, (getargcount() - 1))); } be better? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Capuche Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Developer Topic Count: 10 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 2407 Reputation: 616 Joined: 07/05/12 Last Seen: March 20 Share Posted August 27, 2013 Why not, your way is easier to use. Also F_RandMes is only used in F_Hi and F_Bye functions in a clean version, it's not a lot of work (lol) to change them ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // *** Function "F_Hi" ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// //returns random HELLO message function script F_Hi { return callfunc("F_RandMes",5,"Hi!","Hello!","Good day!","How are you?","Hello there."); } ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // *** Function "F_Bye" ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// //returns random BYE message function script F_Bye { return callfunc("F_RandMes",6,"Bye. See you again.","Later.","Goodbye.","Good luck!","Have a nice day!","Byebye!!!"); } Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emistry Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Forum Moderator Topic Count: 93 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 10017 Reputation: 2369 Joined: 10/28/11 Last Seen: 4 hours ago Share Posted August 27, 2013 even simpler ..?? function script F_RandMes { return getarg( rand( getargcount() ) ); } but i think the name should change too ? since it's not only for "mes" 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanakiwurtz Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 81 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 1654 Reputation: 583 Joined: 08/09/12 Last Seen: January 14, 2020 Author Share Posted August 27, 2013 Dang... I didn't realize that it only needs a single line... Does making a 'Pull Request' means that I have to make a fork? TBH I don't know how Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patskie Posted August 27, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 50 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1702 Reputation: 241 Joined: 09/05/12 Last Seen: November 10, 2024 Share Posted August 27, 2013 Lol 1 rep for ya @Emistry . Why not make it simply F_Rand or even F_Random :3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skorm Posted August 29, 2013 Group: Forum Moderator Topic Count: 33 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 1282 Reputation: 393 Joined: 02/03/12 Last Seen: Thursday at 10:36 PM Share Posted August 29, 2013 I think it could be simplified like this: function script F_RandMes { set .@i, getargcount(); return getarg(rand(1,.@i)); }What do you think? Nanakiwurtz, I think this is very cool... You're awesome to request this 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Euphy Posted September 5, 2013 Group: Members Topic Count: 72 Topics Per Day: 0.02 Content Count: 2997 Reputation: 1132 Joined: 05/27/12 Last Seen: June 1, 2017 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Implemented in 66a2bfd. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts