Jump to content
  • 0

Can't connect using WAN IP


iFllux

Question


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

Hello rAthena.

I got a little problem here. I only can connect my server using 127.0.0.1 or 192.168.1.*. I can create character, play and bla bla bla.

But when I change to WAN IP, i can't connect in to the server. If this is my setting:

char_athena

// Login Server IP
// The character server connects to the login server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
login_ip: 127.0.0.1
// The character server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Login Server Port
login_port: 6900
// Character Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
char_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121

map_athena

// Character Server IP
// The map server connects to the character server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
char_ip: 127.0.0.1
// The map server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121
// Map Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
map_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Map Server Port
map_port: 5121

with that, I can play when i set 127.0.0.1 on clientinfo.xml.

If I change to my WAN IP like this:

char_athena

// Login Server IP
// The character server connects to the login server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
login_ip: 127.0.0.1
// The character server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Login Server Port
login_port: 6900
// Character Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
char_ip: flluxro.zapto.org
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121

map_athena

// Character Server IP
// The map server connects to the character server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
char_ip: 127.0.0.1
// The map server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121
// Map Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
map_ip: flluxro.zapto.org
// Map Server Port
map_port: 5121

and then I change the IP address on clientinfo.xml to flluxro.zapto.org. I can't enter the game. Changing the login_ip on char_athena and char_ip on map_athena to 192.168.1.* doesn't solve the problem. I still can't enter the game.

Please help me with this problem.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

24 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  46
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  228
  • Reputation:   33
  • Joined:  11/15/12
  • Last Seen:  

Try to put flluxro.zapto.org in login_ip and char_ip too.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

I will get this error when i start the server on charsev-sql.bat and mapserv-sql.bat:

[info]: Attempt to connect to login-server...
[status]: Connecting to 124.82.51.127:6900
[Error]: make_connection: connect failed (socket #2, error 10061: No connection
could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
)!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  46
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  228
  • Reputation:   33
  • Joined:  11/15/12
  • Last Seen:  

Are you using router? If so, try port forwarding.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  33
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  231
  • Reputation:   24
  • Joined:  12/18/11
  • Last Seen:  

your antivirus is blocking the server to connect

Edited by lakasmonk
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

Are you using router? If so, try port forwarding.

I already do the port foward. Same problem.

portfoward.jpg

your antivirus is blocking the server to connect

Ohh. Then how to make my antivirus not blocking the server?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  33
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  231
  • Reputation:   24
  • Joined:  12/18/11
  • Last Seen:  

what anti virus you are using?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

what anti virus you are using?

I'm using avast! Free Antivirus

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

I've done it. I've disable avast shield control and still got the "make_connection: connect failed (socket #2, error 10061: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it" error

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  33
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  231
  • Reputation:   24
  • Joined:  12/18/11
  • Last Seen:  

try to double check the IP's on conf folder then recompile it

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

I have checked everything. This is my conf_athena and map_athena:

char_athena

// Login Server IP
// The character server connects to the login server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
login_ip: 127.0.0.1
// The character server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Login Server Port
login_port: 6900
// Character Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
char_ip: flluxro.zapto.org
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121

map_athena

// Character Server IP
// The map server connects to the character server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
char_ip: 127.0.0.1
// The map server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121
// Map Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
map_ip: flluxro.zapto.org
// Map Server Port
map_port: 5121

With this configuration, when I set my ip address in clientinfo.xml to 127.0.0.1, I can login but only until the character selection, after that I get Failed To Connect Server.

When I set my IP adress in clientinfo.xml to flluxro.zapto.org, I can't enter the server at all.

I think this is because the login_server IP is needed to be my WAN IP, because when I use 127.0.0.1 on clientinfo.xml i can login but can't enter the character selection because my char_ip is my WAN IP.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  33
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  231
  • Reputation:   24
  • Joined:  12/18/11
  • Last Seen:  

in char_athena edit login_ip: 127.0.0.1 TO login_ip: flluxro.zapto.org

then in map_athena edit char_ip: 127.0.0.1 TO char_ip: flluxro.zapto.org

thats all its shoul work

in clientinfo.xml change the IP to flluxro.zapto.org

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

Like i said earlier. I will get this error if i change char_athena login_ip: 127.0.0.1 to login_ip: flluxro.zapto.org

then in map_athena edit char_ip: 127.0.0.1 to char_ip: flluxro.zapto.org:

[info]: Attempt to connect to login-server...
[status]: Connecting to 124.82.50.161:6900
[Error]: make_connection: connect failed (socket #2, error 10061: No connection
could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
)!

Is this because there is something wrong with my router.? Because I go canyouseeme.org to check my open port

and it said that my port is not open but I already open my port.

Edited by iFllux
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1479
  • Reputation:   172
  • Joined:  12/14/11
  • Last Seen:  

try to double check the IP's on conf folder then recompile it

Changing your conf folder does not require you to recompile it. Otherwise, it requires you to restart your server.

Like i said earlier. I will get this error if i change char_athena login_ip: 127.0.0.1 to login_ip: flluxro.zapto.org

then in map_athena edit char_ip: 127.0.0.1 to char_ip: flluxro.zapto.org:

[info]: Attempt to connect to login-server...
[status]: Connecting to 124.82.50.161:6900
[Error]: make_connection: connect failed (socket #2, error 10061: No connection
could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
)!

Is this because there is something wrong with my router.? Because I go canyouseeme.org to check my open port

and it said that my port is not open but I already open my port.

Are you using a Dynamic IP address?

Seems that your ISP isn't allowing you to open your ports by yourself. Try to call your ISP and ask them to open those ports.

Keep the configuration of the following:

char_athena.conf:

char_ip: fluxro.zapto.org

and

map_athena.conf:

map_ip: fluxro.zapto.org

As well, diff your client, tick the 'Enable DNS Support' and it should running fine.

Have a nice day!

you also can use the Firewall / Antivirus. Otherwise, you need to add the map-server_sql.exe, char-server_sql.exe, and login-server_sql.exe to the exception of your antivirus so that the firewall will not block incoming connections to that port.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  9
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  141
  • Reputation:   15
  • Joined:  01/08/12
  • Last Seen:  

If you in the same LAN, do not use WAN IP to connect.

Do not use "fluxro.zapto.org" at any config. Enough just port forwarding to that IP. Keep 127.0.0.1 as IP in config.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  12
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  113
  • Reputation:   2
  • Joined:  10/29/12
  • Last Seen:  

Let's first back down and check if you are able to actually host it.

Check 1: goto whatimyip.com note your ip address. Then head over to your router. Check the WAN ip address. Are they the same? If it shows you different IPs. You cannot host this with your computer until your ISP gives you an ip address not under any NAT configuration

Check 2: Are you under a DHCP server? check START>run>cmd>ipconfig. If it shows 127.0.0.1 or localhost. That means you are not. BUT you have a router.. so this translates (almost automatically) that you are. I saw your post in port forwarding, so that basically means you are.

Check 3: lets check your settings

CHAR_ATHENA

// Login Server IP
// The character server connects to the login server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
login_ip: 127.0.0.1 <<should be 192.168.1.8 not 127.0.0.1
// The character server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Login Server Port
login_port: 6900
// Character Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
char_ip: 127.0.0.1 <<should be you WAN ip address.(if you are planning to expose your server to the iternet and have people login over the net)
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121

// Character Server IP
// The map server connects to the character server using this IP address.
// NOTE: This is useful when you are running behind a firewall or are on
// a machine with multiple interfaces.
char_ip: 127.0.0.1 << should be 192.168.1.8 not locahost ip
// The map server listens on the interface with this IP address.
// NOTE: This allows you to run multiple servers on multiple interfaces
// while using the same ports for each server.
//bind_ip: 127.0.0.1
// Character Server Port
char_port: 6121
// Map Server IP
// The IP address which clients will use to connect.
// Set this to what your server's public IP address is.
map_ip: 127.0.0.1 << WAN IP if you want it through the internet.if this is just local.. should be LAN
// Map Server Port
map_port: 5121

CHECK 4: If you want both LAN and WAN players. make sure that the subnet_athena is configured correctly. Check ipconfig and copy the data there to the subnet configuration. Basically Checks 1 to 3 takes care of the WAN.

CHECK 5: Open the servers login/Char/map and check the if the ports are open. You check do this with ping.eu or ipporttoolcheck.

CHECK 6: Check your clientinfo.xml (if ragnarokRE) or sclientinfo.xml if the ip address is correct. Since you will log in locally, put 192.168.1.8 on the ipaddress not WAN. but if the people connecting are through the internet. Provide them with the WAN IP

I hope this helps

Edited by pandaplaygames
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  13
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  28
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  02/17/12
  • Last Seen:  

Check the Ports if it is Open.

Check Ports Here: http://canyouseeme.org/

Portforward: http://portforward.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1479
  • Reputation:   172
  • Joined:  12/14/11
  • Last Seen:  

@pandaplaygames

1. *whatismyip.com, you forgot the 's' :D

2. Depends on the IP of his LAN, it could be 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.8 or .9, .100, .150, .255

3. Otherwise, all of the three servers are running in 1 instance of computer, then keep 127.0.0.1 in config of "login_ip" in char_athena.conf as well as the "char_ip" in map_athena.conf. both configurations is used to listen, from which IP the char server and the map server is receiving connections from login server and char server.

4. just ask the client to connect to 127.0.0.1 when the client and the servers' window stays in the same workstation, others, they should use WAN.

Just telling you..

Have a nice day!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

[sOLVED]

I understand now. I can enter the game now and my friend also can enter the game. I need to use 127.0.0.1 on my clientinfo.xml and I my friend use my WAN IP to connect to the game and it worked.

Thanks to all for replying and help me.

One question, if I wanna use client 2011-09-06aRagexeRE.exe, how can I know what packet_db_ver for this client. How can I know what packet db version on each client?.

Edited by iFllux
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1479
  • Reputation:   172
  • Joined:  12/14/11
  • Last Seen:  

Hello

It's great that you understand it now..

you shall not be confused of client changing: what should you do with the PacketDB. If you have it running on 2012-04-10, then you can leave it when you use 2011 clients and it should work (I used so much clients)

Have a nice day!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  9
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/22/12
  • Last Seen:  

CHECK 4: If you want both LAN and WAN players. make sure that the subnet_athena is configured correctly. Check ipconfig and copy the data there to the subnet configuration. Basically Checks 1 to 3 takes care of the WAN.

Can you please give me the example for the subnet configuration, because I want players from both LAN and WAN. With my current subnet configuration only I and WAN player can enter the game, but LAN player stuck at character selection, then 'Failed to connect to server". This is my subnet conf:

subnet_athena.conf

subnet: 255.255.255.0:192.168.1.3:192.168.1.3

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1479
  • Reputation:   172
  • Joined:  12/14/11
  • Last Seen:  

Hello iFllux,

So sorry that I haven't back to the board.

As my experience is, I did nothing to the subnet_athena.conf. Otherwise, I just did something on char_athena.conf and map_athena.conf. A friend of mine changed his subnet_athena.conf and everything messed up. The problem was the same as yours, "Failed to connect to server"

You may want to try reverting the file and try to login one more time..

Have a nice day!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  2
  • Reputation:   1
  • Joined:  04/29/13
  • Last Seen:  

Hi, I'm sorry but iFllux what are your char_Athena and map_Athena configurations?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  1
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  08/08/13
  • Last Seen:  

CHECK 4: If you want both LAN and WAN players. make sure that the subnet_athena is configured correctly. Check ipconfig and copy the data there to the subnet configuration. Basically Checks 1 to 3 takes care of the WAN.

Can you please give me the example for the subnet configuration, because I want players from both LAN and WAN. With my current subnet configuration only I and WAN player can enter the game, but LAN player stuck at character selection, then 'Failed to connect to server". This is my subnet conf:

subnet_athena.conf

subnet: 255.255.255.0:192.168.1.3:192.168.1.3

 

I think you should just add a line after this one, like this:

 

subnet: 255.255.255.0:192.168.1.3:192.168.1.3

subnet: 255.0.0.0:127.0.0.1:127.0.0.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...