Spriting problem please help.

Nimr0d

Question

• Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  22

Can someone please tell me where I was wrong here? It's my first time having this error/problem. Please explain to me how to fix this. Thank you in advance. :)

Where did I go wrong? I've made this sprite before. Now Im redoing it because my files we're corrupted and I had to reformat my PC. Please help

I have fixed the sprite problem. Now the problem is the background color is not INVISIBLE. :/

post-8503-0-46940200-1367859958_thumb.jpg

5 answers to this question

• Topic Count:  28
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  802

I can't check the files since I'm not on my PC, but probably the problem is related to the image format. A basic thing in RO spriting (even more important that pixeling skill itself) is understanding the bmp format. All RO sprites (except for TGA sprites, which aren't going to be considered in this post) are made up of a collection of 8-bits bmp images, with a single shared palette file.

This means that if you aren't experienced enough, if you don't start with a 8-bit bmp you will most likely get errors. Each one of those images probably have it's own palette (not a shared one), so when you create the sprite, all the images except the first one will look weird, because all the images will use the palette file located in the first bmp image.