EvilPuncker Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 19 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 713 Reputation: 71 Joined: 11/08/11 Last Seen: December 25, 2024 Share Posted November 20, 2012 I've always wondered why do we got two settings to do almost the same thing, can anyone explain it? maybe I'm missing something //Max number of characters per account. Note that changing this setting alone is not enough if the client is not hexed to support more characters as well. #define MAX_CHARS 9 // How many Characters are allowed per Account ? (0 = disabled) chars_per_account: 0 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lekkereten Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 8 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 148 Reputation: 46 Joined: 11/02/11 Last Seen: November 25, 2024 Share Posted November 20, 2012 9 (MAX_CHARS) is the number of slots that will be avaiable. chars_per_account is the number of characters that you can create within MAX_CHARS slots. Although I found that you can use any value on chars_per_account, even surpass MAX_CHARS, which is not a good practice. Fixed that in r16937. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EvilPuncker Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 19 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 713 Reputation: 71 Joined: 11/08/11 Last Seen: December 25, 2024 Author Share Posted November 20, 2012 isn't chars_per_account redundant? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
malufett Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 9 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 554 Reputation: 70 Joined: 04/04/12 Last Seen: November 8, 2013 Share Posted November 20, 2012 isn't chars_per_account redundant? "chars_per_account is the number of characters that you can create within MAX_CHARS slots." so nope it's not.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
xazax Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 11 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 427 Reputation: 123 Joined: 11/17/11 Last Seen: December 31, 2022 Share Posted November 20, 2012 As far as I remember, the client can not handle arbitary number of character slots. At least old client couldn't, I do not know how the new clients behave. So I believe MAX_CHARS is there because of the client limitation. The chars_per_account is the settings users should use to limit the number of characters per account. Because modifying (especially increasing) MAX_CHARS may result in unintended behavior. But correct me if I'm wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EvilPuncker Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 19 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 713 Reputation: 71 Joined: 11/08/11 Last Seen: December 25, 2024 Author Share Posted November 20, 2012 well, both values need to be the same, no? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
malufett Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 9 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 554 Reputation: 70 Joined: 04/04/12 Last Seen: November 8, 2013 Share Posted November 20, 2012 well, both values need to be the same, no? nope..since 0 means unlimited or by default value of MAX_CHARS Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemongrass Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Developer Topic Count: 28 Topics Per Day: 0.01 Content Count: 547 Reputation: 270 Joined: 11/08/11 Last Seen: June 10, 2024 Share Posted November 20, 2012 I would change the console output from: if (char_per_account == 0) { ShowStatus("Characters per Account: 'Unlimited'.\n"); } else { ShowStatus("Characters per Account: '%d'.\n", char_per_account); } to this: if( char_per_account == 0 ){ char_per_account = MAX_CHARS; } ShowStatus( "Characters per Account: '%d'.\n", char_per_account ); Since the word "unlimited" could be missleading for some users. 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EvilPuncker Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 19 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 713 Reputation: 71 Joined: 11/08/11 Last Seen: December 25, 2024 Author Share Posted November 20, 2012 well, both values need to be the same, no? nope..since 0 means unlimited or by default value of MAX_CHARS still the same xD Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
malufett Posted November 20, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 9 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 554 Reputation: 70 Joined: 04/04/12 Last Seen: November 8, 2013 Share Posted November 20, 2012 still the same xD hahahaha..but value 0 is more efficient in this case because no need to change its value every time we change MAX_CHARS.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lekkereten Posted November 21, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 8 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 148 Reputation: 46 Joined: 11/02/11 Last Seen: November 25, 2024 Share Posted November 21, 2012 I would change the console output from: if (char_per_account == 0) { ShowStatus("Characters per Account: 'Unlimited'.\n"); } else { ShowStatus("Characters per Account: '%d'.\n", char_per_account); } to this: if( char_per_account == 0 ){ char_per_account = MAX_CHARS; } ShowStatus( "Characters per Account: '%d'.\n", char_per_account ); Since the word "unlimited" could be missleading for some users. Indeed, thanks for that. Done in r16939. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Posted November 23, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 20 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 213 Reputation: 109 Joined: 05/21/12 Last Seen: December 27, 2014 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Marked as implemented. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EvilPuncker Posted November 23, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 19 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 713 Reputation: 71 Joined: 11/08/11 Last Seen: December 25, 2024 Author Share Posted November 23, 2012 btw I still think that 2 settings for the same thing is redundant Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kyeme Posted November 23, 2012 Group: Members Topic Count: 10 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 164 Reputation: 12 Joined: 03/08/12 Last Seen: 11 hours ago Share Posted November 23, 2012 I hope they implement -> http://rathena.org/board/topic/61773-one-char-per-gm-account/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts