Tales Posted September 4, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 163 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 319 Reputation: 8 Joined: 02/05/12 Last Seen: January 11, 2016 Share Posted September 4, 2015 Hellow!Now i'm starting a "Oficial-Based" server with git commands... i'm using git clone https://github.com/rathena/rathena.git ~/rathena to download the latest git from rathena... my doubt is:1 - When someone update the master-branch, how can i update my git? 2 - If i make some changes in my source, i'll lost'em when update? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Ganja Posted September 4, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 141 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 444 Reputation: 22 Joined: 06/18/12 Last Seen: August 11, 2018 Share Posted September 4, 2015 (edited) - You can use stash save to save the changes - Then git pull to update - Stash pop to put the changes back Edited September 4, 2015 by Lord Ganja 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shadowscreen Posted September 4, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 8 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 76 Reputation: 11 Joined: 04/13/12 Last Seen: March 7, 2023 Share Posted September 4, 2015 You can also create a new branch with "git branch <branchname>" where you apply your changes and everytime you "git pull" the master branch simply merge the changes into you server branch. The good thing is that you can setup a test branch before you apply the changes to your server. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tales Posted September 4, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 163 Topics Per Day: 0.03 Content Count: 319 Reputation: 8 Joined: 02/05/12 Last Seen: January 11, 2016 Author Share Posted September 4, 2015 Can you show the commands? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shadowscreen Posted September 4, 2015 Group: Members Topic Count: 8 Topics Per Day: 0.00 Content Count: 76 Reputation: 11 Joined: 04/13/12 Last Seen: March 7, 2023 Share Posted September 4, 2015 if you really want to start working with git, you should read yourself into it. Otherwise it may happen that you mess up at some point if you dont know how to deal with certain commands properly. https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2/Getting-Started-Git-Basics 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Question
Tales
Hellow!
Now i'm starting a "Oficial-Based" server with git commands...
i'm using
to download the latest git from rathena... my doubt is:
1 - When someone update the master-branch, how can i update my git?
2 - If i make some changes in my source, i'll lost'em when update?
Link to comment
Share on other sites
4 answers to this question
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.