Jump to content

Froggo rAthena Installer - Your own private server in 8 min or less 🐸


Sapito Sucio

Recommended Posts


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  12
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  188
  • Reputation:   114
  • Joined:  04/10/12
  • Last Seen:  

Froggo rAthena Installer [WSL Edition]
 
This script automates the installation and configuration of rAthena on Windows Subsystem for Linux 2 (Debian). It simplifies the process by handling WSL installation, rAthena WSL image download and extraction, and shortcut creation.
 
 

68747470733a2f2f692e696d6775722e636f6d2f

Features:

  • Automated WSL Installation: The script checks for and installs WSL2 if needed.

  • rAthena Image Download and Extraction: Downloads and imports a WSL Debian based image

  • Shortcut Creation: Convenient desktop and Start Menu shortcuts for accessing your rAthena instance.

  • Pre-configured Credentials: Default credentials are provided for easy initial access (remember to change these for security!).

Prerequisites:

  • Windows 10 or 11

  • VirtualMachinePlatform (Windows Optional Feature)

  • Windows Subsystem Linux (Windows Optional Feature)

  • Administrator privileges.

Installation:

  1. Open PowerShell as administrator.

  2. Run the following command:

Invoke-Expression "& { $(Invoke-WebRequest -UseBasicParsing 'https://gitlab.com/SapitoSucio/froggo-rathena-installer/-/raw/main/WSL/rathena_wsl_image_installer.ps1?ref_type=heads&inline=false') }"

 

(You can and should review the script's code before executing: View Code ) 🐸☝️

Default Credentials:

  • Debian User: froggo

  • Debian Password: froggo

  • Databases: rathenadb and rathenalog

  • MariaDB (MySQL):

    • mysql_server_id: ragnarok

    • mysql_server_pw: ragnarok

  • Interserver Communication:

    • userid: froggos1

    • passwd: froggop1

  • In-Game Admin Account:

    • username: test

    • password: test

Recommended Development Setup:

Use VS Code with the Remote - WSL extension for a seamless development experience. Suggested extensions:

Essential Commands:

  • Compiling:

./configure
make clean
make server -j$(nproc)

 

  • Start/Restart rAthena: (from the rathena directory)

./athena-start restart

 

  • Connect to MariaDB (MySQL):

sudo mysql -u root
# OR 
sudo mysql -u ragnarok -p

 

Bonus: Tmux Integration

Tmux is pre-installed for enhanced session management. Key commands:

  • Starting and Managing Sessions:

    • tmux: Start a new session

    • tmux new -s <session-name>: Start a named session

    • tmux ls: List sessions

    • tmux a -t <session-name>: Attach to a session

    • tmux kill-session -t <session-name>: Kill a session

    • tmux kill-server: Kill all sessions

  • In-Session Controls:

    • Ctrl-b d: Detach from session

    • Ctrl-b s: Switch sessions

    • Ctrl-b $: Rename session

Youtube Video:

 

 
Edited by Sapito Sucio
  • Upvote 1
  • Love 1
  • MVP 1
  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  3
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  19
  • Reputation:   5
  • Joined:  08/20/14
  • Last Seen:  

Great project Sapito!
We already have this process memorized. But beginners will benefit greatly from using Froggo.
Congrats on the update! 👏

  • Love 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  3
  • Reputation:   1
  • Joined:  05/31/17
  • Last Seen:  

Muchas Gracias!

Como un completo novato que acaba de seguir la guia del video anterior con chocolatey debo preguntar

Donde se coloca la carpeta de RO?

Encuentras mejor esta opcion para editar un servidor o me quedo con el metodo anterior de chocolatey en windows?

Hay algun RO que este configurado para pre re? siempre tengo el problema de izlude al caminar

de nuevo, que buen aporte, gracias!

  • Love 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  12
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  188
  • Reputation:   114
  • Joined:  04/10/12
  • Last Seen:  

1 hour ago, kila66 said:

1) Donde se coloca la carpeta de RO?

2) Encuentras mejor esta opcion para editar un servidor o me quedo con el metodo anterior de chocolatey en windows?

3) Hay algun RO que este configurado para pre re? siempre tengo el problema de izlude al caminar

1) En donde tú quieras ponerla, no hay diferencia.
2) En lo personal yo no uso visual studio para compilar en windows, siempre he usado WSL para ello

3) No que yo sepa

 

////// 

 

1) Wherever you want to put it, there is no difference.
2) Personally I don't use visual studio to compile on windows, I have always used WSL for it.

3) Not that I know of

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  3
  • Reputation:   1
  • Joined:  05/31/17
  • Last Seen:  

Otra pregunta, como hacer para cambiar los nombres de las credenciales?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  2
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  03/19/23
  • Last Seen:  

[deleted]

Edited by alvisrynoc
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.04
  • Content Count:  15
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  11/06/24
  • Last Seen:  

when i double click rathena wsl it just opens up then automatically close cannot type the next step... any help? im using winows 10 proimage.png.947e267f4939596cdfc7b4ed7861e8c8.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  1
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  05/25/19
  • Last Seen:  

On 2024. 11. 7. at 오전 5시 31분, kaitogashi418 said:

Rathena wsl을 두 번 클릭하면 그냥 열리다가 자동으로 닫힙니다. 다음 단계를 입력할 수 없습니다... 도와주세요. 저는 Winows 10 Pro를 사용하고 있습니다.이미지.png.947e267f4939596cdfc7b4ed7861e8c8.png

me to

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  2
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  11/19/24
  • Last Seen:  

It looks like the WSLLauncher.ps1 file is missing from the AppData folder. That's why it's not possible to start the "rAthena WSL" from desktop.
Any idea for a fix? 🙂

image.png.853ca03a21a9a4d9cd385fd59895ecb8.png

Edited by Rusger
Typo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  1
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  12/07/24
  • Last Seen:  

On 11/19/2024 at 9:02 AM, Rusger said:

It looks like the WSLLauncher.ps1 file is missing from the AppData folder. That's why it's not possible to start the "rAthena WSL" from desktop.
Any idea for a fix? 🙂

image.png.853ca03a21a9a4d9cd385fd59895ecb8.png

I have the same problem. Have you managed to fix it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  2
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  11/19/24
  • Last Seen:  

18 hours ago, Suketsune said:

I have the same problem. Have you managed to fix it?

Sadly no. I tried some stuff manually, but couldn't really figure it out.
I used another guide in the end and could make it start.
Still having problems with translations, I think... Skills are all "Unnown Skill" and quests have no text at all, so...

I hoped to see some answers or a fix or anything, but it doesn't look like Froggo had time to work on this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  3
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  27
  • Reputation:   5
  • Joined:  08/27/16
  • Last Seen:  

Hi there,

First, thank you for all the amazing work in making RO setup accessible for everyone!

I followed the steps in the tutorial, but when I double-click the 'rAthena WSL' shortcut, the Terminal opens briefly and then immediately closes. Upon investigating, I noticed that the 'WSLLauncher.ps1' script is missing from the %AppData%\Roaming\froggostuff folder.

Did I miss a step, or could this be an issue with the setup? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Captura de tela 2025-01-04 165622.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  2
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  01/06/25
  • Last Seen:  

On 2025/1/5 at AM4點10分, Hyllok said:

你好呀,

首先,感謝您為讓每個人都能使用 RO 設定所做的出色工作!

我按照教程中的步驟操作,但是當我雙擊“rAthena WSL”快捷方式時,終端機會短暫打開,然後立即關閉。經過調查,我注意到資料夾中缺少“WSLLauncher.ps1”%AppData%\Roaming\froggostuff腳本。

我是否錯過了一個步驟,或者這可能是設定的問題?任何建議將不勝感激!

提前致謝。

捕捉特拉 2025-01-04 165622.png

I encountered the same issue here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  12
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  188
  • Reputation:   114
  • Joined:  04/10/12
  • Last Seen:  

I have updated the repo, try again 🙂

 

Invoke-Expression "& { $(Invoke-WebRequest -UseBasicParsing 'https://gitlab.com/SapitoSucio/froggo-rathena-installer/-/raw/main/WSL/rathena_wsl_image_installer.ps1?ref_type=heads&inline=false') }"
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  2
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  07/15/20
  • Last Seen:  

i cant start the console

 

Captura de pantalla 2025-01-24 042930.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...