Jump to content

Setup Thor Patcher


Jayz

Recommended Posts


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  58
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  395
  • Reputation:   53
  • Joined:  07/24/12
  • Last Seen:  

You need to have a Thor patcher! Note that there are different version
and features develop within thor if you don't have one I suggest to
download this Thor Patcher [2008-08.05] because of this guide!

Mirror Thor_Patcher[2.5.4.18].7z

We wil begin in configuring your config.ini inside your Thor Patcher/Tools/config.ini

1. Open that file, and edit the following (I will list all necessary configuration needed for configuration)

Find this line:

base_url=http://domain.com/patch/

- This is your base URL where the patch
is a folder under your web host and the patcher will access that folder
and everything inside. In my case I will create new folder name thor folder to use in this guide.

below is my config and path for my patcher

base_url=http://www.axwebsolutions.com/thor/

2. The news/notice

notice_file=notice.html

-
you don't need to change this one, unless you want to use .php! Incase
you did change your own news, you need to change that one too inside
your configuration, In my case I will leave it as notice.html and upload
it inside the thor folder under my webhost. As you can see when you combine the base_url and the notice.html it will look like this
http://www.axwebsolutions.com/thor/notice.html

Just like I said earlier thor will find the file notice.html inside the folder name thor under my webhost.

3. The core file

core_file=main.ini

- core_file is the main remote configuration that the patcher will access first inside your webhost or my thor folder.

4. Other important configs below

[Local]
//status_file - [Relative Address]
//It used to store information such as last patch id etc,
status_file=server.dat

- the .dat file is the thor patcher logs everytime you create a new patch it will be listed inside that server.dat
you can change this to your server name or any name you want, its
useful so it won't mess with the other servers installer/files.

//grf_file - [Relative Address]
grf_file=Server.grf

- This is your primary or main grf

//client_file - [Relative Address]
//It's GAME EXE not patcher's
client_file=nro.exe

- This file is your hexed.exe that the thor will trigger after the player click the start game button in your patcher.

//client_parameter - [self Explained]
client_parameter=-1sak1

- Self explain, or don't edit if you don't know what is this for...!

the rest of the configuration is done! Now if you want to do a modification its all up to you.

When your done editing... make sure to save the changes you made in your config.ini

We may now start combining the config.ini and embed it inside the Thor Patcher. Open the /Thor Patcher/Tools/Config_Packer

Click the Browse button, browse and open the Thor file located inside the Thor Patcher/Patcher/Thor then click Pack!

Alright its done with combining the config.ini with Thor file < your patcher. Next is

5. The main.ini file

Open the main.ini file found inside your Thor Patcher/web/main.ini

Find this line

file_url=http://domain.com/opatch/data/

-
the file_url is for your patches that you have created same with hexed
or patcher hexed that you would want to patch too. Change it too, In my
case I have created a folder name thor with the path
http://www.axwebsolutions.com/thor/

go inside your Thor Patcher/web/ folder you will see that I created the folder name patchs this is the folder where all patches you created will go inside under your webhost ofcourse.

in my own configuration I will put

file_url=http://www.axwebsolutions.com/thor/patchs/

when your done just save and exit.

6. We need to upload all files inside the Thor Patcher/Web folder, earlier I have created thor folder inside my webhost public_html, now I will upload all files inside Web folder into thor folder under my webhost.

I
suggest using CuteFTP for easy upload of files, simple as drag and
drop. You can download this cuteFTP by searching on the web.

When
your done you may now test if your config is working simply by double
click on the Thor found inside your Thor Patcher/Patcher/Thor.exe

Also you can put all necessary files(yourro.grf, thor.exe, hexed.exe etc...) for your installer inside the folder installer! To avoid messing up with other files.

Here's mine

 

53779thorpatcher1.JPG

 

7. Making a patch with grf

Its easy to make a patch, First create a folder name patch - grf inside your Thor Patcher folder. Go inside the patch - grf
and create another folder again, in my own way of making a patch I have
created many folders just to separate all this patches, that's why I
have now patch - grf folder means all updates that is going to be extracted inside my main grf should go in the folder name patch - grf but for me not to get confuse I have created another folder inside the patch - grf folder and that folder name is the date of the patch. For example today is December 3, so I created dec3 folder (don't get confuse you can create your own folder name and way of creating patch) Now, inside the dec3 folder I created another folder name data! We all know that when you extracted a data.grf, sdata.grf or anyname.grf it will extract a folder name data!
As you can see the earlier explanation, this is the directory for my
patch Thor Patcher/patch - grf/dec3/ then the data folder.

Inside
the data folder all the files of your client update that you have
added/edit! For example I added a new custom items with headgears and
etc item, you can check my data folder by download it HERE!

Note:
When making a patch you don't need to paste all of the files inside
your data folder and patch it again, what you need is the files/folders
that you have re-edited or files that you have added must all go inside
the data folder. Extract my data.rar and see what's
inside, notice that I have put only what I added and put inside what I
have just re-edited.


To make a patch for thor, open the ThorMaker found inside your Thor Patcher/Tools/ThorMaker

 

45570thorpatcher2.JPG

 

#1
- This is the name of your patch just enter any name you want. In my case since, I use the date I will name the patch as c_updates_12032008 then click Save

 

40395thorpatcher3.JPG

 

 

By the way, create a folder inside your Thor Patcher and name it upload - grf you can make your own folder name, for this example I use the folder name upload - grf because this folder is the location of all the patches I have made.

#2
- make sure that you select RO - GRF

#3
- there are two options on how the patcher will extract your patch, the first one is Directory and the 2nd one is Single! In this guide we will use the Directory option by default. Click the Select button, If you stil remember I have created the folder name patch - grf, now go inside that folder and select your patch folder name, in my case I use the folder name dec3, that is the folder I need to select, take note that I have put the data folder inside the dec3 folder.

 

 

41008thorpatcher4.JPG

 

 

Take note that we use the Directory option, that's why I select dec3 folder, just click OK to select.

#4
- When your done just click the Generate and it will repack a file name c_updates_12032008.thor!

Note:
Make sure that the folders/files inside the data folder that you will
be patching is in Unicode (this is gibirish) not with boxes names!


Once the file is ready, copy the name and paste it inside the plist.txt found inside your Thor Patcher/Web/plist.txt

Here's mine

 

 

2765thorpatcher5.JPG

 

 

1 - is the number of the patch
c_updates_12032008.thor - is the name of the patch

On the next patch just add on the second line number 2 for the 2nd patch. for example
--------------------------------------------------(inside plist.txt)
1 c_updates_12032008.thor
2 c_updates_12042008.thor
------------------------------------------


When
your done, upload and replace the file plist.txt inside your webhost
also upload the c_updates_12032008.thor inside the patchs folder in your
webhost! When you start your patcher it should be patching by now.

8. Making a patch with files, patcher hexed or hexed.exe

Check your Thor Patcher folder you will see the patch - file and upload - file folders that I have created, its obvious that you will paste all files inside that patch - file folder and the generated .thor will be put inside the upload - file folder.

When making a patcher hexed or hexed.exe patchs its same what you did before the only difference is that you will not use the plist.txt but you will need the main.ini when patching patcher hexed or hexed.exe!

Example below
Lets say you have now have a ready patcher hexed, just paste it inside your patch - file folder.

Note:
Make sure the name of your Patcher hexed is same with the name of your
patcher hexed before. For example you use Thor.exe while with your new
patcher hexed that you will be patching must also name as Thor.exe too!

 

45570thorpatcher2.JPG

 

 

#1
- same with the Guide #7, enter the name of the patch and click save, in my case I will use the name p_updates_12032008! also you can put the patch to any folder you want but in my case I will save my patch inside the upload - file folder, you can do the same, whatever you want.

#2
- Make sure to select File

#3
- click select button, find and select the folder patch - file because earlier I told you to paste your patcher hexed inside the patch - file folder!

 

 

80373thorpatcher6.JPG

 

 

#4
- Click Generate to make the p_updates_12032008.thor file! Make sure to select Root option(see image above). When your done you need to edit the main.ini in this lines


Example:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[Patch]
//use CheckSum tool, hash for client & patcher
// used to make sure exe is up to date
//  (leave empty to disable this feature)
ClientSum=
PatcherSum=CD83831A


//This is compressed file for patcher & client update
// To make these work, ClientSum and/or PatcherSum can't be empty
// Note: these files should put same place as patch file (file_url in internal config)
//Relative address, not FULL URL!
ClientPath=
PatcherPath=p_updates_12032008.thor
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh I forgot, you need to use the CheckSum
found inside your Thor Patcher/Tools/CheckSum, you will need this to
know the value of the patcher hexed that you will be patching, let say
that this is the version of your patcher hexed. Just drag drop the
patcher hexed in the checksum to see the value and put that value as you
see in above example!

When your done, save and exit. Don't forget to upload that main.ini in base_url and the p_updates_12032008.thor inside the patchs folder in your web host.

With hexed.exe you do the same.


9.
The last part is creating your own installer, here in axweb we use
NSIS/Install Creator but I suggest using the install creator, it is a
software for creating installer and User Friendly just visit the www.clickteam.com and download their software name "Install Creator"


All done.


Thanks for reading ~

Credit to Axweb

Edited by Zack-
  • Upvote 8
  • MVP 1
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  25
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  71
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  01/14/13
  • Last Seen:  

@Zack Wow very clear.Finally I understand now how to upload custom item. Thanks ^^



BTW, When I compile  the .lua files to .lub files in data before i patch, It should be with other or previous custom item inside? or just my item that I made only?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  58
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  395
  • Reputation:   53
  • Joined:  07/24/12
  • Last Seen:  

you need include your previous custom item before patch

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  25
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  71
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  01/14/13
  • Last Seen:  

you need include your previous custom item before patch

Thanks, even the 

idnum2itemdisplaynametable.txt and other .txt included the old item? sorry for to much question. I don't want to get wrong before I start to add my item.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  58
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  395
  • Reputation:   53
  • Joined:  07/24/12
  • Last Seen:  

yes... example idnum2itemdisplaynametable.txt make sure include the old item's like starting 501 Red Potion.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  84
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  550
  • Reputation:   9
  • Joined:  11/06/12
  • Last Seen:  

nice!



Sir how about the sprites/textures?

do i still need to include all the files or just the things that i want to be added on my grf?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  58
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  395
  • Reputation:   53
  • Joined:  07/24/12
  • Last Seen:  

about sprite/texture just the thing you want to be add on your grf :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  84
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  550
  • Reputation:   9
  • Joined:  11/06/12
  • Last Seen:  

thanks!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  112
  • Topics Per Day:  0.03
  • Content Count:  388
  • Reputation:   4
  • Joined:  05/01/12
  • Last Seen:  

but how to example action to open file guys?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  41
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  237
  • Reputation:   19
  • Joined:  06/05/13
  • Last Seen:  

can we use the patcher in offline mode? i mean use the patcher and the address will be your own pc? thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  14
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  25
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  11/08/13
  • Last Seen:  

how about the lua files the accessid and name?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  50
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  974
  • Reputation:   41
  • Joined:  11/13/11
  • Last Seen:  

Reupload the Thor Patcher File /no1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 years later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  36
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  383
  • Reputation:   121
  • Joined:  03/31/12
  • Last Seen:  

I encounter error when updating a new thor patcher
like tmp.exe

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  7
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  26
  • Reputation:   4
  • Joined:  06/27/12
  • Last Seen:  

how do i upload new login image? the folder name is gibberish.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  58
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  395
  • Reputation:   53
  • Joined:  07/24/12
  • Last Seen:  

if the name is gibberish use ASCII instead Unicode to avoid resources pack stuck

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  3
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  11
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  02/03/17
  • Last Seen:  

what if I use Hamachi?

will the patcher still work?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 11 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  2
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  43
  • Reputation:   2
  • Joined:  04/15/12
  • Last Seen:  

Thank you OP for this. I really forgot how to deal with Thor Patcher. Its been years since the last time I launch a server :lol:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 7 months later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  12
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  46
  • Reputation:   1
  • Joined:  03/20/12
  • Last Seen:  

This support multi-GRF?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  107
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  768
  • Reputation:   69
  • Joined:  02/10/12
  • Last Seen:  

does this versison thor patcher

support this??

//[Button:Extra]
//
//
//
// Mode - mode for button
// 1 = open URL
// 2 = Launch file/program
// 3 = Message box
//Mode=
// Action - depend on what you set in the Mod, this may vary
// ex. Mode = 1 , Action='http://google.com'
//Action=

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 years later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  17
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  94
  • Reputation:   0
  • Joined:  09/02/20
  • Last Seen:  

anyone can help me with this topic ?

i have problem "Failed to communicated server"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

  • Group:  Members
  • Topic Count:  176
  • Topics Per Day:  0.15
  • Content Count:  666
  • Reputation:   9
  • Joined:  12/04/20
  • Last Seen:  

On 1/22/2024 at 12:03 PM, ManokStreZ said:

anyone can help me with this topic ?

i have problem "Failed to communicated server"

post your config here

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...